Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired Diplomat and retired WHO Secretary

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Tortoise/Turtle(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 4 January 2020
Until: 4 May 2021

Occupation

Transcriptionist and Retired Chemist

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

My husband is a retired German chemist who is now a US permanent resident. He keeps our 54 acre wooded property in perfect shape. He also does cutting, splitting and then bringing in wood for our 2 woodstoves for winter. He handles the maintenance of our solar system and has built a little hut last year - this year a front porch to keep out the north wind and snow.
I am 68 and also in very good condition. I work from home doing medical transcription and I also was a dog trainer for some time.
We are non-smokers and very responsible.
We are looking for a nice home in a quiet setting for winter - somewhere warmer than here in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Near the eastern coast would be nice, but not critical. We would prefer a home where we could be of some use while we are there. The home we would consider must be clean, in good repair and in a quiet location. We are not city people.

Why they want to house sit

We want to house sit to cut our winters short.

Their experience

We are looking for our sixth house sit with the hope that it could be a yearly arrangement. We have lived in many very nice homes over the years including a farm, homes in Switzerland, Holland, and Germany and now we are settled on our homestead in Michigan. Living off the grid has made us very resilient and practical in order to keep everything running smoothly. We are caretakers for a new home built on our property for friends who are here only in the summers.

What can they bring to the assignment

We can bring honesty, common sense skills and good taste. Everything involved in the upkeep of your home will be done with care and respect.

Available to house sit

United States

Availability dates

From: 4 January 2020
Until: 4 May 2021

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2015

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Testimonials

Winter 2019 Housesitters

Patty and Bernhard did a wonderful job housesitting for us last winter. They took great care of Pinta who challenged their dog, Maya at the beginning, but Patty was able to dog manage the situation and they ended up being best buddies. They took the dogs on many adventures on the numerous beaches and conservation areas, discovering many that we did not know about. The cat learned all sorts of new games, and now chasing the feather from his tunnel is a favorite. They contacted us immediately with any challenges and all was well upon our arrival home, along with giving updates and photos. The house was clean and tidy, animals happy and content, and even the fish looked happy when we walked in last spring.

Mary, United States, 28 October, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 6 November 2019