Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Fit, non-smoking, middle aged female looking to take care of your home, AirBnb, and/or loved ones as they were my own. Love all living things, nature, the ocean, the mountains, everything and everyone!

Canada

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Reptile(s), Farm animal(s) – dogs, cats, chickens, horses, fish....

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 22 April 2019
Until: 31 August 2020

Occupation

College Instructor

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a fit, active, middle aged college instructor who loves the outdoors, cycling, hiking, running, walking, snorkeling, diving, anything that keeps my heart pumping and that includes your beloved fur babies! I am also an experienced AirBnB caretaker with excellent references from my work.
I have taken care of vacation homes in Kona Hawaii for the last two years. Have excellent references from the two business owners, one of which had a dog and two cats that I loved. I fell in LOVE with the ocean on those trips and I love all living things. I too have a dog and a cat and when I travel, I need to have a companion to care for. I have since taken assignments in Sacrafano, Italy, see reference below, Kona, Hawaii and Kelowna, BC. I am very self sufficient, handy and very low maintenance. Love all you have like my own!

Why they want to house sit

I love the fact that I can holiday on a budget and help out wherever I can to make someone's life less stressful while they are away on vacation knowing that their home and loved ones are well cared for. Living in the community and getting to know the people is very important to me. I too have my furr babies that I need to be away from and I would ask that the person who takes care of my Boomer and Lucy not only care for their needs, but loves them like I do. I believe I give this love to my charges while I am caring for them. The fact that I can come home to these friends and take care of your home is very important to me!

Their experience

I have taken care of two AirBnB vacation properties along with their animals on two occasions in Kona Hawaii. One was for 6 weeks that included taking care of a dog and two cats in 2014 and another was 2 vacation cottages along with an orchard for 2 months in 2015.
In the summer of 2016, I flew to Rome, Italy and took care of a dog, cat and a turtle as well as a property for Manuela. Her testimonial is under my experience below. I then flew to Kona, Hawaii and took care of four cats and a property for a friend of mine on the island.
In August of 2016, I was in Kelowna, Canada for my last house sit of the summer and took care of two indoor cats, a house and a garden.

Reference 1: May 2014

Barb Brown house sat for us last year during the Month of May 2014 when we took a trip Morocco.

She took great care of our two cats and our rescue whippet dog, Cleo.

When we returned, the house was clean, Cleo and kitties well. She even taught Cleo tricks!!

Barb also managed our vacation rental on our property. Cleaned it and checked guests in. Did a great job!

I can highly recommend Barb as a house/pet sitter!
Karen

Reference 2: June - July 2015
My name is Peter and I write to you in regard to Barb Brown who you are considering for a house sitting job with you.

Barb took care of our property in Hawaii for an extended period of time last year as we were off island for several months. She did an excellent job of not only taking care of the house and property, but also running our vacation rental business on site during our absence. Barb maintained the house and cottages to a high standard and went above and beyond what was required. She was also excellent with our guests and everyone gave her top reviews for her performance during their stays.

I recommend her highly and am sure you will be more than happy with her as a caretaker for you property.
Peter

My name is Manuela and I live in Rome, Italy.

Barbara housesitted, dogsitted, catsitted and turtlesitted for us in
the period 21 June - 12 July : more than 3 weeks.

She was absolutely enthousiastic about doing her job, and she did it
wonderfully !

She was a perfect companion for my dog Rex and my cat Tigrotta. She
took care also of our turtle and she also created for her a sort of a
house, keeping the turtle far from my dog - who saw her as a walking
bone.

She went along perfectly with all my pets, and my dog was
enthusiastic to sleep at night, aside her. She also took him to
Baubeach (dog beach) near Rome. He loved her !

She is absolutely reliable and trustworthy. More, she left the house
very clean and in order.

I highly and warmly recommend her. You can't have no one else better
than Barb at your home !

What can they bring to the assignment

I bring an immense amount of experience loving and caring for pets and property as I have both myself. I have a passion for people and take the responsibility of their trust very seriously in order to give them the peace of mind that their most prized possessions will be loved and cared for as if they were my own.

Available to house sit

Australia, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Caribbean, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Ecuador, Fiji, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Availability dates

From: 22 April 2019
Until: 31 August 2020

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2016

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Testimonials

Better than I could have dreamed

I have been thanking my lucky stars daily that I found Barb. I hired her for two weeks to take care of my house, dog, chickens, and perform Airbnb turnovers. I wish I could tell you how completely above and beyond Barb went for us. She essentially TRAINED our dog. She sent me videos of the Airbnb unit to let me know how she had set it up. She restocked supplies and refused reimbursement. She sent me photos every day of the INCREDIBLE adventures she was doing with our dog. The house and yard were full of little love notes about our dog, dinner upon our arrival, flowers treats for my kids, a sparkling house and car, house repairs made, and thank you notes. I don’t just want Barb to house sit for us again; I want her to move in with us. A fascinating, motivated, and accomplished woman on top of that, with a positive attitude that is unparalleled. I can’t say enough good things about Barb, or thank her enough. It is stressful to leave for two weeks with a stranger in charge, but she wasn’t a stranger after the first few minutes! She even changed her arrival date to come earlier than planned because I was nervous about my dog not getting enough time to get used to her, and flew down instead of drove. Barb is the best and you should absolutely entrust her with the job. I’m happy to elaborate more if you’d like to talk!

Lee Ann, United States, 13 July, 2018

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 12 January 2019