Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Yes, we adore animals! Dutch couple would looove to take care of your home & pets :)

Netherlands

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Pig(s), Goat(s) – We don't have our own pets anymore, as we do house sits now. But we've always had pets like birds, cats, rabbits, chickens and they always felt like dear family members to us!

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 16 January 2020
Until: 31 March 2020
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Publisher, communication agency, European vintage furniture & home decorating

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Good to know: we will be in Portugal and Spain until about March 2020. Currently we're near Cadiz. We have our own car and we still have some free dates so if you need sitters... ;) As we're driving around and as we don't have always internet you can also send us a Whatsapp or give us a call (you can find our phone numbers in our profile here)

We're Guus and Mariska, a married, non-smoking Dutch couple (44 & 47 yrs). We're self reliant, easy going and tidy. We're home owners (we own an old countryhouse from about 1820 that we renovate in central Germany, it's our second home). We love organic and vegetarian food. And yes, we're real animal lovers and we like to travel!

Because of our dear cat Joepie, who passed away in the summer of 2015, after being with us over 20 years, we're still a bit sad and we still miss him sometimes. But the good thing is that we're now able to travel around the world, and we can give our love to other pets. Maybe to your pets while you're away?

MORE ABOUT US / professionaly

VANDAAR / is a small agency for creative productions like book publications, art events, public relations, marketing concepts, still life photography, copywriting and interior decoration. We worked as freelance gourmet & travel journalists and professional hotel and restaurant reviewers. We love to build bridges between the profit world and the muses / the non-profit world. We believe strongly in a local, green and social economy as a solution to make people feel happy and to save our world for future generations.

Vintage furniture, art and antiques + home decoration
We buy, repair and sell vintage / antique European furniture & art. We did some styling and decorating projects.

Hospitality
We've experience in cooking and hospitality too (although that's already some years ago). We both worked as a waiter / waitress in restaurants and coffee bars in the Netherlands to earn money during our studies. And we organized culinairy art events, like theatrical dinners in artists' ateliers.

Why they want to house sit

As we don't like pets to stay in an animal shelter or to stay alone at home, we would love to take care of your loved ones while you're away. And we will take care of your home, plants and garden too, of course! It's so interesting to notice that every 'living being' has it's own character and way of communicating. And how good it is to notice that it only takes a day or two to become 'best friends'.

Their experience

We did 'home & pet sitting' projects during the last years, in the Netherlands, France, Spain, Portugal and in Germany with a lot of pleasure. We took care of the house, the pets / animals (mainly cats, dogs and chickens although we've experience with sheep, horses and donkeys too) and the garden. We even did some maintenance work (repairing a leaky roof and painting some walls, for example) and looked after building projects while the owners were abroad. We enjoyed our stays a lot and we would love to be house & pet sitters in the future, short and long term!

Good to know is that all the house & pet owners asked us to come back afterwards to do another house & pet sit for them.

*** FOLLOW OUR INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT ***
instagram.com/dutchhousesitters

For example...

7-14 February 2020 we will be in Faro, Portugal again to look after 2 cute dogs. We already know them so we're looking forward to meeting them again :)

Until 31 December 2019 we were house & cat sitting in Porto, Portugal

September 2019 we took care of 2 adorable cats and a house with a wonderful view in the Netherlands

End of may 2019 we were dog sitting (2 rescue dogs) in Faro in the Algarve, Portugal

During februari 2019 we were house / farm sitting in central Portugal. We took care of sheep, dogs, horses, cats and chickens at an ecological / biodynamic estate.

January 2019 we were dog sitting in Spain where we took care of 4 dogs and a lovely chatting cat :)

November 2018 we did a house sit in Porto, Portugal and took care of a very sweet and adorable cat and a lovely house.

In August / September 2018 we took care of 2 cute cats and a lovely old house in the centre of Haarlem, the Netherlands for 2 weeks. It was the second time we did a house sit for this owner.

The first 3 months of 2018 we were in Competa, in Andalusia in the south of Spain for the third year (2016, 2017 & 2018) at the same place. We took care of 2 cats (Boio & Migo), 6 chickens and a lovely, garden. This housesit took about 2,5 months. We've learned that chickens have their very own character (like every living being has). Chickens come to your lap and eat from your hand. Some of them even come to cuddle once they know you personally and trust you:)

December 2016 / januari 2017 we were in the Algarve in Portugal to take care of a hostel without guests. We enjoyed our stay a lot, overlooking the sea at the wonderful roof terrace :)

During wintertime 2016 (feb, march) we were in the south of Spain, in Andalusia. We were taking care of six chickens (yes, every day fresh eggs and lot's of chicken-talk), a lovely cat and a house for 3,5 weeks. This was a last-minute house-sit because the owners were left down 'last second' by other sitters.

In march 2016 we did a house sit in the south of France (Provence) for 2,5 weeks where we took care of 2 dogs, 2 cats and the house. We loved the walks with the two happy dogs and the cats were unforgettable sweet!

December & january 2015 we took care of a house and a very sweet cat in Lelystad, the Netherlands for 2 months.

In october 2015 we took care of a house and two lovely cats in the centre of Haarlem, the Netherlands for about 3 weeks. The cats slept with us on the bed, like our Joepie always did :)

What can they bring to the assignment

We both love animals, gardening and nature a lot! We don't smoke. We take care of your place as if it is our own. That means that we, for example, like to keep our home / environment clean.

We spreken Nederlands
Wir sprechen Deutsch
Nous parlons Francais (un peu)
We speak English

Some repair jobs?
We have experience in all kind of renovation work as we're renovating our own countryhouse in Germany. Most of the things that have to be done, we do it ourselves. Sometimes with the help of a professional. So if you have some things to be repaired... or build, just tell us what needs to be done and we can tell you if that is something we're able to help you with. We consider very small repair jobs as a part of the housesitting deal. If you have maintenance jobs to be done, of course we can talk about a reasonable compensation so there will always be a 'win-win'.

Oh and if you need a police check from us we can get you one.

Available to house sit

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Canada, Caribbean, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Denmark, Fiji, France, Indonesia, Italy, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Availability dates

From: 16 January 2020
Until: 31 March 2020

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
7 February 2020 to 14 February 2020

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2016

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old
Family status: Couple

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 16 January 2020