Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Active retired couple would love to sit for you

Australia

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Tortoise/Turtle(s) – Most animals considered

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 23 December 2018
Until: 22 March 2023

Occupation

Retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We are a retired couple in our 60's, Trish & Barry. When we aren't travelling we reside in Australia, I am a Kiwi and Barry is from the UK. We have been pet owners but are without now since we travel a lot. We are home owners and previously, pool owners. Prior to retiring I was a government employee for 19 years and Barry was in the Airforce for 6 years and then in Air Traffic Control for 18 years; he also ran his own driving school and home maintenance business.
We are looking at sitting for people who mainly have cats and/or dogs, but we leave our options open.
We live on a semi rural 2.5 acres (1 hectare) estate which is wonderful, and generally very peaceful. Shops are a 35 minute drive away so we are happy being away from the city.

Why they want to house sit

We love travelling but don't go on organised trips = we do our own thing. We like meeting the "real" people where we go. So we feel housesitting is a good way to meet the locals, we can spend some time with pets we don't have, and I must admit it is nice to have free accommodation for a time. We both enjoy cooking and the idea of going to a local market to purchase fresh produce is very appealing.
We look at all invites and consider them according to our commitments, and would consider most countries.

Their experience

We have have successfully completed 14 house sits, mostly through another housesitting site so our references are on that site, but we can cut and paste if required. A couple of our sits have been repeats and we have been asked several times if we could repeat or sit for others but have been unable to do so due to commitments.

What can they bring to the assignment

Honesty, care, extensive property maintenance experience, Barry built the house we live in, plus we had rental properties in the past which he maintained.
We are animal lovers but don't have any at the moment as it wouldn't be fair to be leaving them with other people a lot of the time.
Neither of us smoke and are minimal drinkers. We have never taken illicit drugs.
You can be well assured that we would look after your pets and property as if they were our own, which would give you peace of mind whilst away.

Available to house sit

Australia, Austria, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Fiji, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, South East Asia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 23 December 2018
Until: 22 March 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2016

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Excellent house/pet sitters

Trish and Barry stayed at my house last November to look after my 2 dogs Om and Daisy. They cared for my dogs like their own; fed them, exercised them cuddled them. I received regular emails and skype calls during my vacation confirming their wellbeing. The house was kept very tidy and Barry also did some fixing around the house on little jobs which needed to be done. I was very happy I chose Trish and Barry to stay at my place and I already asked to come back this November when I will be taking my next holiday. I guess they'll be my long term sitters. Highly recommended!!!

Simona, Thailand, 14 June, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 2 February 2022