Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Responsible, mature couple; seasoned travelers and pet lovers

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s) – Cats and dogs; primarily cats. Would prefer small dogs.

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 13 September 2019
Until: 26 June 2020

Occupation

Retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I have been retired for several years and my husband retired more recently from a professorship in history in the State University of New York. While he is no longer teaching, he still writes and gives lectures locally at a lifelong learning institute. He is currently under contract to update his several books. My diverse career included working in insurance, as a newspaper reporter, and elementary school teacher. My hobbies include fiction and poetry writing, drawing and painting, and playing the piano. I'm very interested in art, and am always excited to visit museums in the areas we visit. We both include exercise and reading in our daily routine. We are seasoned travelers: my husband lectured and we traveled in China in 2006, we have spent time in West and South Africa and in several European countries, and most recently my husband has lectured on cruises along Africa’s Atlantic coast.

Why they want to house sit

We love to travel and learn. We feel the way to get to know a place is to live there a while, get to know the area in a intimate way, and learn how the locals live. And, of course, house sitting provides us with the economic benefit that allows us to do so, while caring for pets that we make friends with.

Their experience

Through this site we arranged and completed a three-week house-sit in Asheville, NC, a few years ago, where we took care of a woman’s home, plants, and two cats to her complete satisfaction. We also housesat for a couple for two weeks in a small town not far from Limoges, France. We cared for their 2 dogs and 3 cats and their home; the owners were happy with our stay and encouraged us to housesit for them again. In June 2016, we took care of a cat and home for a charming couple in Banbury, England. We could get letters of recommendation from these people and others, should you wish. We have had both dogs and cats of our own through most of our lives, and we make good friends with new ones readily. We have also pet sat seven times in the last two years in the U.K.

What can they bring to the assignment

We are responsible home owners ourselves. Indeed, we had very good house sitters for a year when my husband was a visiting professor, and we know the importance of having responsible people living in our home. We have a very nice, recently completely remodeled home which we keep clean and tidy, and would take care of yours in the same fashion.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Austria, Canada, Central South America, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Netherlands, Panama, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Availability dates

From: 13 September 2019
Until: 26 June 2020

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2016

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Testimonials

Great Couple

Doris and Don house-sat for us last year. Our first experience with MindMyHouse It was a delightful and worry free experience. The cat was happy, the plants perky and house imaculate. We had absolutely no doubt that thery were all being cared for and were able to relax and fully enjoy our holiday. It felt like old friends were staying in our house and we have kept in touch ever since. How wonderful to meet new friends from another country with the same sense of humour. Hope to meet again.

Valerie, United Kingdom, 07 March, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 13 September 2019