Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Animal-Loving Teaching Couple

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 21 February 2021
Until: 21 May 2023

Occupation

Community College Instructor

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Dave and Jessica are both educators in the Chicagoland Area. Dave teaches World History at a high school and loves sharing his travels with students to bring learning to life. Jessica is an ESL (English as a Second Language) Instructor at a community college. World travel has allowed her to understand her students' struggles with learning a new language, and to connect more with their lives. We have lived abroad in Spain, the Czech Republic (where we met), and China, and are no strangers to culture shock and adapting to new situations. We love animals of all kinds, hiking, and camping.

We are looking to house-sit locally (year-round) and in Europe (during the summer). We both have experience caring for dogs, cats, chickens, and fish. We are a very quiet and responsible couple and hope to find a house-sitting that will allow us to unwind from the school year by reading, getting acquainted with our new surroundings and spending quality time with our new furry friends.

Why they want to house sit

When we first heard about mindmyhouse.com, we were so excited because it combines our two biggest loves - animals and travel! We are passionate about "slow travel", where we can have a routine and really get to know a place that we are visiting. We've also both been huge animal lovers since childhood, but because we live in an apartment in the bay area, we are not able to have a pet of our own. We love the idea of using our vacations from work to see a new part of the world while spending time with a new animal friend (or several).

Their experience

Dave and Jessica have years of experience house- and pet-sitting for friends and family. We have pet-sat for several people through MindMyHouse as well, and would be happy to provide references.

Growing up in Chicago, Jessica spent the summers house- and pet-sitting for neighbors and friends. She has taken care of both cats and dogs (of all sizes), watered plants, and mowed lawns for the house owners.

We both come from big animal-loving families. Jessica grew up with several golden retrievers and mixed breed dogs, a sassy cat named Snowy, and her sisters' three pet rats, while David's four-legged siblings included German Shepherds and mixed breeds in addition to several cats. David's extended family also has over a dozen chickens that he enjoys caring for when he is down in L.A.

Who have we taken care of?
- On breaks from our schools, we often house-sit for Dave's mom in Los Angeles, as she's been traveling frequently in her retirement. We love hanging out with her two small dogs and tending to her beautiful edible garden.
- We have spent the last two summers taking care of two amazing Gordon Setters (very large dogs with lots of fun energy)!
- We have taken care of a sassy little cat named Popeye for the last two years.
- We house/pet-sat for an Oakland resident who had a cat and over 25 air plants.

What can they bring to the assignment

Because we are both teachers, we bring professionalism, and most importantly care to all of the work that we do. Our wide array of experience can bring assurance to you that we will take the best care of your home and pets.

Available to house sit

United States

Availability dates

From: 21 February 2021
Until: 21 May 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2016

Personal details

Age: 26-35 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 20 June 2021