Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Dedicated, caring and experienced house/pet sitter available

Canada

Testimonials

They have 3 testimonial s (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Other animal(s) – Including the animals above, I also cared for 2 peacocks in Spain

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 25 November 2022
Until: 25 February 2024

Occupation

High School Teacher

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hello, I'm Jorge pronounced (George :), a high school physical education and geography teacher in my late 50's with 31 years experience as an educator living and working in Mississauga, Ontario Canada.
I'm friendly and outgoing, yet respectful of others. I've led a morally sound life, and don't smoke or do drugs. I was born in Canada, but am of Portuguese descent and speak the language fluently. I'm also pretty good with Spanish and French. I have 2 adult children that are my everything. I've owned cats, dogs, birds and fish. I have a sincere fondness and appreciation for all animals, and don't often miss an opportunity to be around them.

Why they want to house sit

I was introduced to this site in 2016 and wish I'd known about it years ago. Now that my own children are grown and busy with their own lives, I find myself with more time available than I know what to do with. Especially in the summer months.
My travel experience hasn't been that extensive, but has grown, thanks in large part to this site. After having dedicated myself and my time to those dear to me over the years, I'd like to change that, especially in circumstances where I can be exposed to learning about a different country and/or culture.
My occupation inherently makes me a student of human nature, and I'd like to learn from and engage with people from around the world when given the opportunity, and I'm excited by the possibilities this site provides.

Their experience

I have house and pet sat extensively over the years, including locally for friends and family, and overseas in the Azores for up to a month. I've also sat for dogs and cats on numerous occasions, and have gardening experience as well.
I spent the month of July 2016 in Delft Netherlands looking after two adorable cats. An unforgettable experience with a lovely family in an intriguing and historically rich country.
The last two weeks of August that year I traveled to Navarre Florida to look after a gorgeous German Shepherd belonging to a friendly mature couple.
In the summer of 2017, I spent a month in Cartagena Spain caring for 12 cats, a dog, horse and 2 peacocks. Quite the pet sitting experience! Lol. In the summer of 2018 I looked after 2 cats in Mexico for the nicest of American couples, and again in 2021.
In all cases, I came away proud and satisfied with the experiences, feeling I'd made new friends, and still keep in touch with the families involved.

What can they bring to the assignment

I'm a very responsible, respectful person, that given the privilege to
look after another's home and/or animals while travelling, would do so as though the place and pets were my own, as has been the case in each of my placements so far. They were all very satisfied with the service I provided. It's something I take great pride in.
Upon their return, their homes were clean and well taken care of, and their pets healthy and happy. Also, what's become a bit of a tradition of appreciation if you will, upon my arrival I enjoy taking the host family out for dinner at a place of their choosing, and when you arrive there is a homecooked meal waiting for you.
It would be a worry free time for you while away, and I could easily provide further references, pics and a clean criminal record check as necessary in further putting your mind at ease. Feel free to check out my testimonials which will verify this.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 25 November 2022
Until: 25 February 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2016

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 3

Testimonials

Jorge was a very happy friendly and helpful person. He looked after all our animals with care and kindness. Our house was very clean and tidy when we returned home with little extras added. I would recommend him to anyone who wants a trustworthy and caring person to look after their animals. We gave him the use of our car for his stay and it was looked after while we were away. We would welcome Jorge back anytime. Thank you Jorge xx

Ann, Spain, 30 August, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

Jorge, from Canada was wonderful

Jorge, from Canada, stayed in our house in The Hague, last summer, and we couldn't have wished for a better sitter. He proved to be a lovely and caring man, and we got along immediately, including our 12 year old daughter. And when we returned, three weeks later, we could sense the care that he took of our house. For one, it had never been tidier ;-), but it felt as if a friend had looked after it. Also, the cats were happy and healthy. It has simply been a great pleasure to meet Jorge, and I am certain you will, too, when you let him look after your house. He's the best!

phyllis, Netherlands, 11 May, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Reliable
  • Friendly

Jorge is a great house/pet sitter.

We would like to give a very strong recommendation for Jorge Madruga as a house/pet sitter. We had him stay at our home in Northwest Florida while we were on a 10 day trip.He sent photos of him playing in the pool with our German Shepherd and communicated via emails. Upon our return home, Jorge had prepared a wonderful snack for us. The house was very clean and tidy. Most of all Ricki was happy and missed Jorge when he left. She keep going back to the guest room looking for him.Jorge has such a friendly outgoing personality, you will feel like you have known him a long time.

Vickie, United States, 26 February, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 25 November 2022