Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Extremely reliable, respectful couple - light footprints and experienced with farm animals and gardens

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s) – Sheep

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 5 January 2019
Until: 1 March 2021
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Artist, biologist, conservationists

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

We are an active couple in our mid-60s who live on a small farm in western Washington state. Rich is a fishery scientist by trade and still working part-time in the non-profit world globally on fishery sustainability. JoAnn is a print artist, gardener and horsewoman. We do not have many animals at the moment - 2 horses and 2 cats (including a 19 yr old that is deaf), but over the years we raised sheep, have had dogs, chickens, geese, ducks, peacocks etc. We love nature and are active gardeners. We have a special affinity for the sea, and love open spaces. We cut firewood on our property as a primary heat source in the winter. We enjoy nature and have a great diversity of birds, deer, coyotes and other animals on our property of over 50 acres.

Why they want to house sit

The lure of seeing new places and experiencing life elsewhere more than strictly as tourists is a definite draw. We have lived here for about 30 yrs now and would like to have a different mix of our 'away experiences'. We are widely traveled, having lived and worked in London a few years ago, and Rich travels globally for his work. We always enjoy new experiences. We also do like animals, nature and gardens very much so if those things come with a house sit, we'll feel quite at home. We likely would favor situations that combine the obvious requirements of caring for your house with the opportunity to see and experience the local areas where you live through some day trips. Reliable internet access is important for having the option to communicate on work matters at times

Their experience

We have not been house sitters through this type of site before. Rich has worked away from home a good deal in the past 10 years, which has entailed both renting and sharing houses with others. In all cases this has required taking good care of others' homes and leaving no footprints. In one case this entailed lovingly taking care of an elderly cat and administering medications twice a day for about a year. We frequently use Airbnb when we travel and have impeccable references for leaving places as we have found them with very little trace of having been there. We can provide references as needed. And as noted above we have a wide variety of experience caring for property and animals, including the unexpected challenges that can often bring.

What can they bring to the assignment

We are very respectful, mature and caring people. We would not take on a house sit without being absolutely confident that we would be a good match and meet your needs. We would enjoy caring for your home like our own and would be very conscientious. We are good communicators, adaptable and responsible.

For the near future, our availability is dictated somewhat by Rich's intermittent work commitments, so it would be easiest for us to consider potential house sits with some advance notice. We also need to arrange for others to care for our own animals while we are away, which requires some planning. We don't have much availability until January 2019. While long-term house sits might be an option in the future, presently we would be able to consider opportunities for roughly a month or less in length.

Available to house sit

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 5 January 2019
Until: 1 March 2021

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
3 March 2019 to 15 March 2019, 7 April 2019 to 17 April 2019, 15 June 2019 to 27 June 2019, 10 September 2019 to 20 September 2019, 12 November 2019 to 22 November 2019

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2013

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 24 October 2018