Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced & Responsible Retired Couple

United States


They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Tortoise/Turtle(s), Rodent(s), Reptile(s), Other animal(s) – Cats, dogs, ferrets, birds, and small mammals (like hamsters)

Police check

They don't have a police check


From: 6 January 2023
Until: 17 September 2024




They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We are a married couple who are both retired from the U.S. federal government. We now spend our summers living in our RV, volunteering as camp hosts at state and national parks around the country. After three years volunteering in at parks in Alaska, this summer we're camp hosting at Sonoma Coast State Park in northern California. We do own a house where we live for a few months out of the year but mostly we use it as a vacation rental. When we're not living at our home in South Lake Tahoe or in our RV, we enjoy house and pet sitting.

Why they want to house sit

While we enjoy volunteering in Alaska and living in our RV, sometimes we'd like a break to do something else. Since our own house is usually rented out, housesitting seems like the ideal opportunity!

Their experience

We've done pet and house sitting for friends, family & others. For example, we cared for my friend's house and her six cats several times while she was away. We house sit and care for three adorable chihuahuas for about two months every year. We are experienced homeowners so we know how to care for your home, keeping it clean and taking care of any needed maintenance & repair. We have lived in Latin America - two years in El Salvador & five years in Puerto Rico - and speak Spanish and German.

What can they bring to the assignment

Mike & I are mature and responsible. We know how to keep a house clean and take care of pets. Although we don't have any pets now, we have had beloved dogs, cats and two ferrets in the past. We love animals (and miss our pets very much) and know how to important it is to give them attention & affection, not just feed them and take them for walks..

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 6 January 2023
Until: 17 September 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2016

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1


Awesome Housesitters

We were lucky enough to find Mike and Linda Purviance to pet and house sit for us from Dec 21 2016 to Feb 1, 2017. We live in Gardnerville, NV and have 3 chihuahuas. They took excellent care of our doggies and house. They are retired civil service workers just like us. We met with them a few times before the pet/house sit and knew they would be the perfect fit which they were. We hope they are available this winter once again. Use them for your housesit, you will not regret it.

Yvette, United States, 06 March, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 10 February 2023