Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired Couple with time, positive attitude and experience to care for your home

Australia

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Fish – Yes, we have looked after dogs, cats, chickens, fish in our various housesits

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 10 February 2019
Until: 31 December 2024

Occupation

Retired teacher

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Our home country is Australia. We are both in our sixties. Bill, born in Austria, is a retired school principal who enjoys woodwork and building projects as well as gardening. He likes to dabble in computers and enjoys meeting people from far and wide in our global community. He is interested in all kinds of sport and world events. Pauleen, is a retired primary school teacher, published author and music specialist, of Irish ancestry. Pauleen is interested in the Arts and has taught music and drama for many years. She loves to travel and to read historical novels,reading a wide range of authors. She has written a series of published educational resources and continues her writing in retirement. Pauleen also loves to shop, garden and decorate, and shares Bill's interest in meeting people from many cultures. We have been married for over 40 years and have travelled extensively in Europe, UK, NewZealand, Canada and Asia. We have a family of 5 successful adults, of whom we are very proud. As we now do not have work commitments, we would like to put our combined creative talents into house sitting for interesting people in interesting places. We love Europe, especially France, Greece, Italy, Spain, Switzerland and the UK. We have looked after pet cats, dogs and chickens during housesits and we have always had our own cherished pets. We are capable at maintenance and gardening and would like to explore cities and villages of interest anywhere in Europe and the UK. We enjoy becoming part of the local community and would ideally prefer to have a car available with the house sit if possible or access to public transport close by. We are flexible and capable and could house sit any time in 2019 onwards.

Why they want to house sit

We are the type of people who enjoy caring for a home. Our own homes are testament to our enjoyment of creating a relaxing, beautiful, welcoming environment. When we explore other countries, it would add special enjoyment to stay in and care for another home in that culture, rather than just stay in an hotel. We believe we would learn more from house sitting and mixing with the local people in any country.

Their experience

We are experienced house and pet sitters in both Australia and overseas. We can supply references if required. We can also supply Police Checks which we have always supplied when teaching in UK. We are used to getting to know people from many cultures as we have also been State Coordinators for a global exchange program and have hosted many students from other countries all over the world. We once hosted a university lecturer from France who was staying in Australia for 6 months. Our most recent overseas housesits were 3 months in Canada in 2015 and a brief stay in New Zealand also that year. We enjoyed a wonderful house sit looking after a gorgeous small dog in Melbourne in 2016 as well as a trip to Tasmania. We house sat in NZ again in 2017. All our experiences have been fantastic! Our favourite destination is UK.

What can they bring to the assignment

We bring integrity, enthusiasm and lots of experience in practical problem solving. We enjoy the challenges that living in other countries offer and we also bring our strengths in building, interior decorating and gardening. We are experienced in driving in Europe and the UK and have seen many places that one would not have known by using the tourist routes.

Available to house sit

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 10 February 2019
Until: 31 December 2024

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2007

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 6 April 2019