Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Family of 4 looking for worldwide long term housesit opportunities (1 month +)

New Zealand


They have 2 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Reptile(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check


From: 1 May 2024
Until: 31 December 2026


Health and fitness coach


They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We are Colin, Elly, Ayla, and Romy from New Zealand.

We are also an experienced house and pet-sitting family who would love to take care of your animals and property! (Although we can't look after horses because Elly is allergic to them).

We completely downsized our life to embark on an indefinite new 'worldschooling' life back in February 2017. (When it was just Colin, Elly & Ayla!).

We are committed 'global citizens' and love 'living as locals' whenever we visit new places. Our intention is to 'slow travel' as much as possible, and that is why we want to look after your house and pets for a few months at a time.

We will happily consider any location in the world. We love adventure and are excited to expose our daughters to different cultures and experiences. We like spending time together as a family and will happily consider rural, city, or suburban properties. We love experiencing a variety of different sits. Natural areas where we can hike and explore are a bonus.

Professionally, we are location-independent as we work online, providing writing and search engine optimization services for clients around the world. This means all we need to stay employed is a good internet connection!

Colin was born in 1966, Elly was born in 1981, and their worlds came together in 2012. Ayla was born in December 2013 before Romy joined the adventure in January 2019.

Why they want to house sit

We love immersing ourselves in new communities where we can 'live as locals' and get to know the neighbours. We see ourselves as global citizens and are always looking to contribute to the communities where we find ourselves.

Elly and Colin both loved traveling and adventure as singles, and now, as a couple, the opportunity to expose our daughters to different cultures and experiences as part of their development years is a huge motivation for our chosen lifestyle.

We believe housesitting gives us the best options to 'live as locals', contribute to communities, and give our girls an amazing global education.

Their experience

Our first housesitting gig was in Bali, Indonesia where we looked after a lovely cat, Harry. The sit started in January 2018 and was only supposed to be for 10 weeks. But the host decided to extend her stay in Europe and was so happy with how we conducted ourselves, she asked us to stay as long as we could (which was around 5.5 months).

We followed that with two more house sits in Thailand during 2018. One where we looked after two cats and two dogs. And the other where we looked after two cats and two snakes!

We then returned to NZ to bring baby Romy into the world. And also did our first house sit as a family of four! This was for friends and didn't involve any pets.

In October 2019, we looked after three cats in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Then in 2020, we looked after a dog and a rural property in France for seven months.

As we update this profile in June 2023, we are on the first of two extended house and pet sits (including dogs, cats, and chickens) in the Melbourne area of Australia, to take us to November 2024.

We are then booked for a long term house and pet sit in New Zealand (caring for three dogs and one cat). We are currently booked up until April 2024 and looking for opportunities from May 2024.

Prior to meeting Elly, Colin spent 2 years housesitting in Christchurch, New Zealand (around 2009/10).

What can they bring to the assignment

We enjoy living in a clean, tidy, well organised space so we will certainly take care of your home. We are flexible and adaptable - happy to garden, feed and care for pets and check in regularly with you if required.

Last updated: 19 October 2023

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 1 May 2024
Until: 31 December 2026

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2017

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old
Family status: Family with children

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2


KL House sit

This was our first experience with a house sitter and to look after our 3 cats and frog pond and it has been a positive and great experience. A family with 2 young children in your home when you are away for some time, we did feel some apprehension about taking them on, but our initial anxieties disappeared once we started communicating.When we met them the day before we left, we knew our home and cats will be in good hands. Ally and Romy , the 2 children were wonderful to have around the short time we were with them. The house was well taken care of , frogs thrive and cats had Ally and Romy to play with and fuss over them.Colin and Elly were apparently a hit with some of the neighbours and neighbourhood shops due to their friendliness and cheerfulness. Everything was spick and span and cats happily contended when we returned and they even replaced food and toiletries which was unexpected and a nice touch.Don't let the silly idea of the McGuiness's 2 wonderful kids in your home turn you off from letting them house sit for you and your pets. We were very glad to have them house sit and would readily do it again.

Wee Hon, Malaysia, 06 November, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

House sit Bali

The most amazing people! I felt immediately connected with them through MindMyHouse. We had skype contact to get to know eachother before they came. And as they know Asia very well, they had the right visa arranged in no time, as I offered the house/pet sit longer then 2months. Just before I left they came to visit me and Harry the cat, and I explained briefly all around the house and pet care. I felt immediately that they are very well experienced and good care takers and the trust was there. As I stayed longer away, and asked them if they could stay longer until 6 months, it was of no problem for them, and communication went smoothly along the whole period. I felt completely trustful , even if we didn't speak for a while, all went perfect. Harry was very happy as I could see from pictures they had send me from time to time. So I would recommend them with all my heart to anybody, A wonderful responsible, care taking family! Nothing but love for them! Sophia

Sophia, Indonesia, 10 July, 2018

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since January 2017