Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired swedish couple loving dogs, cats, chickens and gardening

Sweden

Testimonials

They have 3 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s) – Dogs, gerbils, rabbits, cats, small birds. No snakes or horses

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 1 September 2023
Until: 31 July 2026
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Retired computer programmer

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

We are a Swedish retired married couple with three grown up children and five small grandchildren.
We live, nowadays without cat, in a small village in southernmost Sweden.
I, Lars, am a retired Computer Programmer and my wife, Margareta, has worked as a Teacher especially with hearing impaired children and adults.
We are both vaccinated against Covid-19 (5 times + a mild attack of the virus itself), non-smokers, preferring non-smoked houses, and are very careful with alcohol.

We have owned and lived in five different houses so we know about how to manage normal house problems.

We are looking for House Sits in Southern Europe from September to May, two weeks or more.
We are also looking for Sits in Northern Europe from May to September.


We are fluent in English, and we can manage in German, French and Spanish.



Why they want to house sit

We have, up to some years ago, had a "Summer Farm" with lots of work. Now we have sold it and want to see other places while we still are in good shape. Gardening and caring for smaller animals in a new place and cultural environment will suite us fine.

Shorter walking tours or bicycle rides (a few hours) would add to the experience.

Their experience

We have had a dog (Labrador Retriever), birds ( budgerigars), small turtle, gerbils and rabbits and a cat , Swedish House Cat, that lived with us for 17 years but died three years ago.
We have no experience with horses or other big animals and don't dare handle them.
We have been housesitting four times, in ├ůsa in Sweden (just a house with garden south of Gothenburg), in Elaine in France (house with two cats, two dogs and chickens close to Carcassonne) and Lisbon (flat with two cats).

What can they bring to the assignment

If you want a responsible, mature couple with experience with children, pets, gardening, caring for houses and some european languages you should contact us.
We don't mind living in the countryside in rather primitive conditions (without pool for example;)

Available to house sit

Austria, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 1 September 2023
Until: 31 July 2026

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
15 March 2023 to 30 June 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2017

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 3

Testimonials

Friendly and reliable housesitters

Lars and Margareta were guests and house sitters on our property for almost three weeks in April. After a few days of getting familiar with our animals and plants, Klaus and I left for two weeks and started our trip with a good, reassured feeling. Lars and Margareta seemed to us from the beginning extremely responsible and prudent. They wanted to do everything right, asked if anything was unclear and were very friendly and very caring in dealing with the animals (dog, cat, chickens) and the many plants. We especially appreciated their way of approaching their "housesitting tasks" in a level-headed and calm manner. So if you are looking for reliable, responsible and nice housesitters, you are on the right side with Lars and Margareta!

Petra, Portugal, 04 May, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

Great cat sitters!

Lars and Margareta took care of our house in Lisbon and of our 2 cats, Tomi and Rosie for 12 days of Christmas/NYE. They were amazing! Very nice, polite, they brought us gifts from Sweden. Tomi is usually very shy but he loved them right away (which has never happened with any of of our previous cat sitters!). They stayed in touch with us though out the entire stay, sent us pictures of the cats. We had full trust in them. Upon our return, the cats were very calm and seem happy, the house was clean and tidy. Lars and Margareta did a great job! We highly recommend them!

Solenne, Portugal, 05 January, 2022

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

Thank you for looking after our home and animals.

Lara and Margareta were lovely.mwe hit on well form the minute they arrived. They listened to our instructions about caring fir our animals and home carefully. We felt very happy leaving everything to them whilst we had a holiday in Spain. Everything was good when we returned. We had communication during the holiday too. Thank you so much. We can honestly say this couple would be suitable to leave your home and pets with. Sue Brooke

Sue n Paul, France, 26 October, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 21 April 2023