Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

I am available for a longer term position, preferably in the UK but open to offers!!

France

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 5 August 2020
Until: 31 December 2022

Occupation

Retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a fit and active 69 yr old english guy. I am a time served plumber and can turn my hands to most things with confidence!! I am not new to house sitting but relatively new to the register. I am independent, I have my own transport and I am a non smoker. I consider myself a to be a personable, responsible and educated guy. I am currently in Montauban, Southern France since November 2018.

Why they want to house sit

I have been a HelpX'er for over 10 years..

www.helpx.net/profile.asp?usercode=1361345WN

and during that time have helped house owners in all manner of property maintenance, gardening, roofing, anything that needs doing. You can contact my previous hosts for references!!
I would remain in France but will certainly consider returning to the UK for a suitable long term guardianship.

Their experience

Fully trained plumber/heating engineer with over 50 years work experience in the construction industry.
I also ventured into the guest house business in York, England for almost 4 years.
My ideal position would be as a long term caretaker/handyman.

What can they bring to the assignment

I am trustworthy and responsible. I can work under my own initiative.

Available to house sit

France, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 5 August 2020
Until: 31 December 2022

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2017

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 3

Testimonials

Totally reliable

James was resident chez moi for 6 months Nov 1st 2017- May 1st 2018. He was gardien during my absence in UK and fulfilled all responsibilities thoroughly and thoughtfully. I found James to be 100% trustworthy and scrupulous in handling and accounting for cash payments. The house and machinery etc was handed back in excellent order after his stay. He applied himself attentively to maintaining the pool over Winter and readily handled an unexpected problem which necessitated changing the pump. He carried out essential gardening maintenance (grass cutting/hedge trimming/weeding) although he honestly declares that he is not a skilled gardener. He painted the outside shutters satisfactorily and impressed me by single handedly removing and replacing those on the first floor. He is physically very strong and is untroubled by heights. James is very self sufficient. He likes to plan and work in his own way and at his own steady pace as he aims to complete jobs to a high standard rather than rush things. I have no hesitation in recommending him as a totally trustworthy and conscientious Yorkshireman.

David, France, 15 April, 2020

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 5 August 2020