Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Finally free to travel

Australia

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 16 August 2019
Until: 1 January 2026

Occupation

Retired teacher-librarian

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I don't need much, happy with humble abodes, but do need a good internet connection and an outlook, leafy if possible. Finally my work commitments have eased, however I still have a voluntary job that I do online, and now that I am older I find I am less needing to be out and about, just looking forward to being able to enjoy some varied places in more depth I need to avoid hot summers. My facebook page is available on request.

Why they want to house sit

I am Australian, and having worked solidly all my adult life, need to do some long awaited travelling. Having experienced a teaching exchange for a year, I appreciate the more meaningful experience that comes from being at 'home', and fulfilling a service at the same time. I am wanting to spend time in Vancouver in the spring. I did a teaching exchange to Vancouver in 1999, lived there for the year, and absolutely loved it. I always promised myself I would return for a long stay. I will look for rental accommodation for two to three months, but if a housesit comes up that I would suit, it would be wonderful. Following that, it is time to enjoy this wonderful world of ours after a lifetime of work. Although work will be following me ..

Their experience

I have looked after dogs, cats and houses for family and friends over the years, did a farm sit in 2017. Had always been too busy to avail myself of broader housesitting, but finally the time has come. I did my first housesit through MindMyHouse in June 2018.

What can they bring to the assignment

I am reliable, trustworthy and respectful, and have jobs that I do at home so have a solid presence. I am prepared to go the extra mile, having risen already to a number of challenges - clearing up someone's yard after the tail end of a cyclone, feeding sheep in the difficulty of an unexpected rainy season, and roaming the streets endlessly to find a dog that escaped through the back fence till I found it. Excluding surprises though, you can be assured I will look after things for you.

Available to house sit

Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Ireland, South East Asia, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 16 August 2019
Until: 1 January 2026

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2017

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Testimonials

Welcome back any time

It was perfect timing that brought Maggie to me for a cat sit. Our communications were great from the beginning, and I felt comfortable leaving Maggie with my cottage and cat for the month. She contacted me when needed and was quick to respond if I had any questions or concerns. Maggie left me with a clean and very tidy home to return to. It was as if I had only been away for the day. I would absolutely welcome Maggie back for a future house / cat sit.

Kareen, France, 29 July, 2018

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 15 August 2019