Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Mature, Responsible Teacher and Handyman/Animal Whisperer Who Love to Travel!

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Reptile(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 25 August 2019
Until: 4 February 2031

Occupation

Teacher

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hi there! We are Mary and Brian, a couple that housesits all over the world together! I own my own online school, Next Level Homeschool, and teach science and history classes to children all over the world. Brian is semi-retired from the movie industry, and is a great handyman in addition to his favorite job- that of animal whisperer!! Animals just gravitate to this guy!! We are looking for longer term sits generally, in the 3 week to 4 month range, but depending on the location will consider various time frames. We are JUNGLE PEOPLE!!! So any location in Central/South America is always at the top of our list!

Why they want to house sit

We have arranged our lives so we can now travel full time, and we have found over the past several years that housesitting is perfect for us! We get a solid home base so we can experience an area like a local and not a tourist, and we can enjoy receiving the love we get from caring for people's amazing animals all over the world.

Their experience

We have been homeowners for over 20 years, so we know what it requires to literally treat a house like it's your own. As homeowners who travel frequently, we have also hired housesitters numerous times to watch our home and pets. So we're very keen to be the type of housesitter we would want to hire (And we're picky!). Our frequent travels (over 30 countries in the last 4 years!) have taught us to easily and quickly adapt to new environments, cultures, and situations. We're as comfortable in the jungles of Central America as we are on the streets of Paris. We have managed our own vacation rentals on AirBNB for the past 7 years (we're superhosts with over 500 reviews), and are more than open to helping owners manage their properties if need be. Housesitting, to us, is truly a business arrangement- even if no money exchanges hands. As sitters, we have work to do for you- be it taking care of your pets, your home, your garden, etc..., and we take that work very seriously. We're extremely picky with the housesits we choose, making sure we read the listing carefully and it's a good fit for us in terms of location, amenities, and responsibilities. In other words, we're not out there applying for everything, hoping someone says yes! If we apply for your sit, it's because we know it's a good fit for us based on the information you have provided. Because once we commit, we COMMIT. You do not have to worry about us backing out. Our main requirement is reliable wifi (within reason, I understand periodic outages, especially in rural locations). Mary works on her lesson plans a lot when we're doing sits, so she needs internet.

We have owned a variety of pets over the past 30 years! Dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles, etc...! Mary owned a pet store and was in the pet industry for over 20 years. If you have fish- fresh or saltwater- she's your sitter! Same with birds or reptiles. In addition to domestic pets, Brian is also experienced with all farm animals. As a couple, we're comfortable with and more than capable to properly care for any pet! We're also avid gardeners and treat plants just like they are pets (minus the walks and play time!).

We are both nonsmokers (of anything!), and only socially drink a few times a year. "Nightlife" is not our style- we're early to rise and early to bed, rarely ever out past dark. We keep a very small footprint- in fact during one housesit in Costa Rica the home owner said the electric bill had never been so low! Due to Mary's teaching position and working with children, she has to undergo live scan fingerprinting and a background check through the US Federal Government regularly- better than any local jurisdiction check! And Brian's work requires that he have a MAJOR background check because he has a dangerous weapons permit through the US Department of Justice.

What can they bring to the assignment

We'll bring professionalism, maturity, and a love of animals to every sit! And to homeowners, we bring peace of mind- your home, pets, and gardens are in good hands with us.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Fiji, France, Greece, Guatemala, Iceland, Indonesia, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, South Africa, South East Asia, South Pacific, Spain, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 25 August 2019
Until: 4 February 2031

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2018

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 25 August 2019