Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Honest, reliable, experienced couple

Australia

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 29 May 2018
Until: 22 February 2019

Occupation

Retire Tech Guru

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Shelly and Jim are a recently-retired, recently-married couple with over six months of house-sitting experience. We have both country and city experience, with both farm and home animal care.

Shelly was brought up on a large tourist farm with all manner of wild, domestic and farm animals, from cats and dogs to deer and bears. For nearly eight years, I owned a 40 acre (16 hectares) farm with ducks, chickens, sheep, goats, dogs, cats, horses, and at times, up to 50 agisted cattle. We are both really comfortable with all manner of animal care.

We are both retired. While I still do some pro-bono work for a government agency in the USA, we are available to be home most of the time for situations where the animals need or prefer a lot of human interaction.

We are honest, clean, responsible and friendly. I am USA and Australia citizen; Shelly is USA citizen. Police certificates and references are available.

There is more information about us on our web site, www.jimandshellyvincent.com.

Why they want to house sit

Shelly and I are recently married and are looking for where we want to live in our retirement. I have lived in Australia for 20 years, but mostly in Sydney and Melbourne. We would like to experience other places in Australia, New Zealand and other places in the world before we "drop anchor" for the rest of our lives.

We are also really responsible in caring for homes and really experienced in providing loving care for animals. We look at house sitting as a way we can contribute to the lives of others, others who want or need to travel, and want exceptional care for their home and pets. We can provide that, relieving those as a worry for travellers.

It is also a chance to make new friends around the world.

Their experience

Our first sit was a 700 acre (283 hectares) sheep farm, which was also a partridge farm. We cared for a dog, three sheep, and about 60 partridges. The partridges needed not just food and water, but the collected eggs needed to be prepared for putting in the incubator.

Our next sit was a home with two dogs and a cat. The dogs were "special care" animals. One was blind with all the extra attention that requires. The other was a young staffy who was loving, but very strong and a bit wild. In the nearly two months we were there, we trained her to walk on a lead, stay off the furniture, and limit her barking.

Next we were on a poultry farm, with about 40 ducks, 35 chickens, and 30 quail. The daily chores include feed, water, collecting eggs, cleaning the cages, and in the hot weather (sometimes 40 plus degrees Celsius) keeping the birds cool.

From there we cared for a dog and a cat in suburban Perth for a month. During that time Jim took on training the dog with loving care and attention out of the habit of nipping at pedestrians and barking at cyclists while on a walk.

We are now on a long-term assignment in suburban Fremantle, caring for many plants and the household systems.

We hope you will consider us as your choice in house sitters.

What can they bring to the assignment

We are clean, honest, reliable, and friendly. We are tech-savvy and will communicate openly and freely as much or as little as our host wants.

We care for the animals and the house as though our own, leaving them better than we found them.

Available to house sit

Australia, Denmark, France, Germany, Norway, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 29 May 2018
Until: 22 February 2019

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2018

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 29 May 2018