Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Semi retired with rescue/medically fragile experience with dogs/cats/rodents

United States


They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Rabbit(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s) – I have a graduate degree in psychology, that helps me understand animal behavior.

Police check

They don't have a police check


From: 25 January 2023
Until: 22 January 2024




They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I work mostly remotely as a mental health therapist, and we have been married for 32 years. We have owned our own home since 1995. My background in psychology really helps me understand animal behavior of all kinds. We now live in a rural area in Montana (close to Canada) with a rescue dog. We have previously had bunnies, and guinea pigs, so we are familiar with rodents. We have lived in foreign countries before we had children, and my most recent adventure was working in South Korea for one year as a government contractor. I have worked with dog rescue for years, and have cared for dogs with food allergies, diabetes, and intestinal trauma in the past.

If you select us to care for your animals, we will spend time snuggling with them, and some time exploring local culture, we really like museums, hiking, local art, and churches.

Why they want to house sit

To be able to afford to see different countries and explore and understand different cultures. I lived in Europe and Asia in the past for work, and like to see the different ways people look at the world. We really love animals and miss ours when we travel.

Their experience

We have both house sat and pet sat in the past. I grew up on a farm, with horses, cows, chickens, and pigs. We also live in a very rural area, and have spent long stretches of time without modern conviences, although it is nice to have those when traveling.

What can they bring to the assignment

Love, snuggles, and a pretty good understanding of animal behavior. I can also give insulin shots if needed, and have worked with medically fragile dogs recovering from surgery, and lots of practical home owner, outdoor experience.

Available to house sit

Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, South East Asia, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 25 January 2023
Until: 22 January 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2018

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1


Great sitters

Leah and her daughter Maggy were wonderful house sitters. They took great care of the house and the animals and left everything they way they found it plus leaving us with all sorts of food they had brought with them. Very kind! I would recommend them highly to anyone.

Meg, Canada, 13 January, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 24 January 2023