Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced, mature, adventurous freelance photojournalist and full-time house sitter

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s) – I love animals and have always had either a cat or a dog (or several) and I miss them now that I am nomadic.

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 12 June 2019
Until: 30 November 2020
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Photojournalist/editor

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a single, mature, well-traveled photojournalist/editor open to adventure and exploration in different parts of the world, and who has chosen to house and pet sit full time.

As a freelance photojournalist and editor, I spend a lot of time at home, working online. When not working, I love spending time with the animals (a house without an animal is not a home, in my opinion), cooking and working outside in the garden.

While out in the community, whether walking the dogs or sightseeing, I always have my cameras with me, to add to my stock photo portfolio. The pets at my house sits always end up on my blog!

I have traveled extensively and this past 18 months has taken me up and down the west coast of the United States and up to remote islands of British Columbia; to South Africa, Mexico, Tahiti, Australia and New Zealand.

Although I have very "itchy feet," I love having a base to venture out from, and house sitting gives me the ability, while providing peace of mind to the homeowner, who can feel confident that the pets and property will be taken care of as if they were my own.

Why they want to house sit

Two years ago, I sold my home in the Pacific Northwest in the United States and since then, have been on the road visiting family around the world. Now homeless by choice, I have the opportunity to visit places I want experience. House sitting, which I have done periodically over the years, gives me the opportunity to live like a local, learn about an area and its people, without feeling the pressure that travel and schedules produce.

My goal is to live in a never-ending summer. I endured too many Pacific Northwest winters, so now I follow the sun.

Their experience

As a homeowner and landlord for many years, I am used to taking care of properties and have experienced many of the problems that can arise. And I am a capable and practical person who is comfortable handling issues as needed.

I've also been a liveaboard boater, both power and sail, and understand the mechanics and workings of off-grid systems.

I've had pets, both cats and dogs, and feel that a home without an animal is not really a home. I understand how important the animals are in peoples' lives.

While a homeowner, I was a Super Host on airbnb.com so am happy to handle guests and airbnb requirements.

My availability starts in June 2019, with a few blackout dates. (Please check my calendar or ask me about dates.)

I have an excellent driving record, with no "incidents" to mar that record. I'm happy to drive the homeowners to the airport and pick them up in their own vehicle, which is so much nicer than having to get a Uber/cab/bus/train after a long flight.

And as I work online, I do need high-speed internet.

My information is on file with the FBI as I am a United States naturalized citizen, and a criminal background check is required at that time. Please note I also have a very recent Global Entry clearance which included an extensive background check, so will not be applying for a criminal background check as this would be redundant.

What can they bring to the assignment

I bring maturity and common sense to the assignment. Plus I ran an airbnb from my home for a couple of years, so I understand what it's like to have "strangers" in the home. I've also stepped in to run a B&B in South Africa for a couple of weeks, showing that I am a responsible and practical person, able to handle problems and issues as they arise.

You can download my references here - https://1drv.ms/b/s!Ap_xguwfvzrsgcQbusqp4HAWrMw1FQ

I know that you get inundated with applications that can be overwhelming, but as a favor, please let me and the other applicants know when you have chosen a sitter. Many of us do this full-time, so we tentatively block out time for the the sit we apply for, which can limit our options. It's helpful to know when a sit is no longer available. Thank you.

Available to house sit

Australia, Belize, Caribbean, Central South America, Costa Rica, Fiji, Guatemala, Mauritius, Mexico, New Zealand, Panama, South Africa, South Pacific, United States, Uruguay

Availability dates

From: 12 June 2019
Until: 30 November 2020

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
21 December 2018 to 11 April 2019

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2018

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 30 March 2019