Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Mature and responsible lawyer/translator/writer from Germany, available worldwide

Germany

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonial s (view below)

Pet experience

Cat(s) – I am a cat person. We had cats when I was a child, and my parents still have two cats (see photo). Most cats like me, too.

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 9 July 2019
Until: 13 March 2031
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Not stated

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

I am 44 years old, from Germany, and a lawyer and philosopher by training. I am now working as a freelance translator and am trying to become a journalist/author, so I am geographically flexible and looking for quiet places to spend some time to write.
I am also always excited about staying/living in an area that is new to me, and I usually feel at home after one day.
MindMyHouse asked me to list some preferred countries, but I am really open to anywhere. I speak German, English and Spanish and would be happy to reactivate French or Italian - or indeed learn a new language.

Why they want to house sit

I have been traveling the world for the past 5 years and I brought back dozens of notebooks filled with observations, thoughts and ideas. Now, I would like to stay in a quiet place to put all these notes into order and to write articles and maybe a first book.
I also like living in other places as opposed to just passing through. When I live somewhere long enough, I try to learn the language and really understand the local society and culture.

Their experience

Yes.
Please see the testimonials on this profile.
I also have plenty of positive references on my Couchsurfing and AirBnB profiles.

What can they bring to the assignment

As a lawyer and a German, I am very organized and reliable. :-)
I am a quiet guy, never drunk, no parties.
I am not looking for a house-sit as a base to explore the country, but as a place to read and write, so I will really be at your home most of the time. (Although I do like going for long walks.)
I like cats, and most cats like me too.
When I move, I always leave the books behind that I have read, so your library will grow.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 9 July 2019
Until: 13 March 2031

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
6 October 2019 to 11 October 2019, 8 December 2019 to 13 January 2020

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2018

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old

Testimonials

Fantastic!

We are so pleased that we chose Andreas as he was simply amazing. We were fortunate to meet Andreas for a few days before we left and we knew right away that we made the right choice. He treated the house like it was his own. He was diligent about clearing snow. The house was very clean when we got back. Since we did not have our mail forwarded, he asked about opening certain important-looking mail, scanned it and sent it to us. He was great about communicating with us and took photos of Alice so we could see how she was thriving. (To top it off, he is a very interesting man to talk to and has had a wide variety of experiences – I am glad we got to spend time with such a nice, unique gentleman.) My uncle’s granddaughter, Marianne, had a school project where a book was to be written in, then sent off to other recipients. The goal was for this book to circulate to as many countries as possible. Andreas took the time to compile a list of recipients with their addresses to a number of different countries. That was very generous of him and I am sure Marianne will be thrilled. I would not hesitate to recommend Andreas as a house and cat sitter. We would have him back in a heartbeat. Don't miss out: Pick Andreas as soon as you can! Don Martin

Don, Canada, 04 April, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

Reliable and conscientious house sitter

Andreas was our sitter for 1 month from the end of September 2018. An excellent house-sitter; Grace, our cat, was cared for superbly and the village cats have thrived while we were away. Andreas is a thoroughly reliable and conscientious person to have in your home. On a personal level we enjoyed chatting very much with him about his adventures in travelling. I'm sure we will keep in touch and hope he may return here for another stay. In summary I recommend him for any house sitting assignment.

David, Spain, 26 October, 2018

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 9 July 2019