Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Adventurous, willing and able

United Kingdom

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Farm animal(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 16 June 2019
Until: 12 September 2019

Occupation

Technical Instructor

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

We're a married couple with three almost-left-home boys of 25, 21 and 17. We lived for over 20 years in Cape Town returning to Derry in Northern Ireland around 2 years ago.
We'd love to spend the coming summer abroad.
We're both able and capable around a house or homestead. We owned our own house in Cape Town for years with a decent-sized garden and spent lots of time and energy converting, managing and maintaining the property.
Both of us love the warmer climate and we're just looking for a way to get to a warmer place for the summer.
If that means looking after someone's house and pets and farm or precious things, we're very keen.

Why they want to house sit

It seems a sensible way to get to another country for a longer than normal period. I'm able to work from wherever I can get a good internet connection so getting away for the summer seems to be a reasonable proposition.
House sitting makes sense as we have our own house and possessions that we would also like taken care of if we are away from here for long periods of time.
6 or 8 weeks on the beach is not for us, but having something to do each day, getting to know an area, the neighbours, the countryside suits us both perfectly.

Their experience

In housesitting, no. In looking after a property, yes.
We rent a large 4-bedroom house with front and back gardens.
We have had our own house in Cape Town, which required lots of love and attention. Which we extended and remodeled over the years we had it. Being in South Africa it also had particularly warm weather most of the year which meant the gardens needed lots of attention.
We have experience in the hospitality industry when we ran a couple of hostels in Cape Town in the early 90's. Just as South Africa was opening up to the world and experienced an influx of visitors, we ran two hostels. This included maintenance and management of the properties as well as taking care of every person who stayed with us. It was a great fun, a great responsibility and allowed us to meet people from all over the world.

What can they bring to the assignment

Property maintenance and management. We care about our own environment and our neat home is a testament to this.
We have looked after properties and people in a tourist environment and we are very keen to experience more of the world, cultures, people, languages and warm weather.
We'll take care of your house as if it were our own. We’re polite and at the end of it all, we’ll leave you with your home as if you’d looked after it yourself and we’ll come back to our own home with some great memories and hopefully some new friends.

Available to house sit

France, Greece, Portugal, Spain

Availability dates

From: 16 June 2019
Until: 12 September 2019

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2018

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old
Family status: Family with children, Couple

Testimonials

Wonderful Sitters

Stephen and Sue stayed at our house for a few months this summer. They had to take a very quick handover from previous sitters who had to leave suddenly and Stephen arrived early in order to do this. I was nervous, never having met them before, but Stephen was very reassuring and I was satisfied that he had read and understood what was required of him. During the sit they were not e mailing every day but enough to let us know things were going well. One of our dogs had a grass seed in his eye and, when it was still sore a couple of days later, Stephen insisted on taking him down to the vet an hour's drive away. Very lucky because the dog had another seed in there still. When I arrived back to take over, Stephen and Sue met me at the airport and were lovely. The house was clean and tidy and everything was in order including the pool. The solar power had been maintained and the workshops were tidy. The animals were happy and well looked after and the garden was tidy with lots of new cuttings planted and Sue's artwork all around. I am still finding her little touches - such as painted stones and a beautiful painted house sign - around the place and they make me smile. My house is for sale and Stephen was happy to show prospective purchasers round. All in all a great sit and I would welcome these guys back any time.

Alison, Spain, 07 September, 2018

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 14 February 2019