Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

trustworthy and animal-loving, calm woman looking for houses or pets to sit



They have 2 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Bird(s), Rabbit(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check


From: 15 January 2023
Until: 15 April 2025




They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

Hi, I´m Melanie. I´m a quiet Person looking for house sits to relax and maybe to explore the Environment depending on where you are. I love being in the nature but houses in cities are nice as well. It should be quiet, not a Party mile. I love Dogs and cats. With other pets I´m not familiar but willing to learn. I understand English, German and French.
I´m working full-time for a private universitiy and the Job sometimes is really stressful as we got Deadlines we have to meet. That´s why I´m using my free time to relax by reading or Meeting friends.

Why they want to house sit

I´m supporting my mom financially. So more than one "normal" Holiday a year is not possible. That´s how I found this sort of travelling combining two things I love - pets and exploring the world without spending too much Money.

Their experience

I´ve grown up with cats and Dogs. We already had lot of different types of cats - shy, active, calm, rebellious - and several Dogs (German shepherd, Terriers, Labradors). At the Moment we have one cat living half in- and half outside of our home and two Dogs, a mixture of different Terriers. I´ve sitted my sister´s and brother´s pets a lot of times. Sometimes in their homes and sometimes in my own. My neighbour works for an organization helping mainly Dogs to find a new place to live. There were times when she had ten Dogs living with her. Often she asks for my help, when she´s not at home. I then take them on a walk twice a day and make sure they got the right food at the right time. Playing is part of this Job, too. My own Dogs are full of energy and need a lot of Action.

Via this platform, I already had 4 house and pet sitting jobs over the last few years. In 2018 and 2019 I sitted 3 dogs and a cat in Italy. I had to walk them at least for an hour every day and to feed them. One of them needed special food and medicine.

Furthermore, I've already been sitting twice two cats in Leiden (netherlands) in 2021 and 2022. That's rather close to my home which was easy to organize. The cats are really cute and easy to handle. The main job was to feed them regularly, to clean their toilets and to keep the house clean and safe.

What can they bring to the assignment

I bring experience in house sitting and very much experience in looking after pets. I can do some gardening (mainly Basics) and mind the house. I´m a Person treating other People´s Things carefully and with respect cause I know how it feels when something is destroyed by someone else. I ´m also very reliable as I hate it when People are delayed and let me wait without giving word. And I have the opinion when you make Agreements you should do everything to comply with them.

Available to house sit

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 15 January 2023
Until: 15 April 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2018

Personal details

Age: 26-35 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2


Great cat sitter, highly recommended

Melanie and her sister spent a week at my home to take care of my two cats. At my request they came a day early, so we could get to know each other a bit and I could explain anything they might need, and so I left for my trip with a very good feeling. Everything went very smoothly, Melanie stayed in contact and sent me some pictures (proving that she is actually a bit of a cat whisperer, as one of my cats does NOT want to be picked up by anyone other than me - and her now!). When I arrived home everything was in great order and they even put some fresh sheets on my bed, which was very nice as I arrived late in the evening. I can truly recommend Melanie and her sister as pet sitters, I won't hesitate to ask them again for future trips!

Celine, Netherlands, 07 October, 2021

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

Kind girl and excellent service

We asked Melanie to look after our 3 dogs and 1 cat while we were on holiday. She did a great job with the pets, walked them daily and followed instructions regading giving medicines to one of them. She kept in touch and took good care of the house. She is quiet, polite and very kind (she even brought us presents from her home town!). We highly recommend her service.

Silvia, Italy, 14 September, 2018

  • Tidy
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 4 February 2023