Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Loving Care for Pets, Plants, Homes and Boats!

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Goat(s) – I worked as a veterinary assistant for 3 years during college and know how to administer meds, baths and care for pets.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 5 September 2018
Until: 15 November 2020

Occupation

Retired horticulture teacher

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

Retired horticulture teacher, sailor, musician, writer, photographer. I travel the world as a teacher and a world citizen, always looking for a new assignment. My home base is Atlanta, Georgia, but for about 6 months of each year I live on my sailboat and cruise U.S. and Bahama waters. For the remainder of the year I seek terrestrial ventures to include house sitting, camping, volunteering, and quality time with friends and family.

I am open to most any world location if the situation fits us both.

I am also open to boat sitting opportunities and have ample experience in the mechanics and requirements of proper boat maintenance, both sail and power boats.

Why they want to house sit

I have a lot to offer and I feel the service I provide reciprocates to benefit both parties. I prefer a quiet lifestyle and would like to use the house sitting time for writing, music and photography projects between my duties while there. I love new experiences where I can be a valued part of a home and community rather than some pre packaged tourist trip.

Their experience

This is my first time applying as a home sitter on this site as of September 2018. I fully understand the role of being a respectful guest in your home. My references will be posted soon.

My goal would be to remain adaptable and considerate to any new situation. I am the guest and fully understand your desire for a good match. You will find me to be somewhat of a "neatnik" in terms of cleanliness and order. I am mechanically inclined and skilled in trades such as gardening, carpentry, and fixing things. I was raised by great parents in Georgia who taught me manners and generosity. My education is a BS degree in horticulture from UGA and a Masters in Creative Arts in Education.

Some of my volunteer work includes Atlanta Humane Society, Forsyth County Food Bank (The Place), Unity North Atlanta Church, Atlanta Steeplechase, and serving as a youth counselor for teens via 3 different agencies.

I am 64, financially solvent, in excellent physical condition, divorced and have one daughter, 28. I am prepared to run or walk your pets as per your requirements while spoiling them with love. I have owned homes and understand the value of caring for your home in a respectful manner as if it were my own.

What can they bring to the assignment

Honesty, integrity, and a curiosity for the world's different cultures are some of my qualities and passions. I dabble in many streams and I am in the process of providing references for my character soon to be posted.

I have owned pets all my life, mostly black labs and cats. I also have farm experience and have cared for goats, cows, chickens and the occasional horse.

I am tech savvy and I have an active on line presence through blogs, musician sites, FB, and YouTube that I can share once we discuss a possible assignment .

I am happily retired after a 35 year career in horticulture as a teacher, County Extension Agent and landscape manager. Other odd jobs I have held in the past are commercial fishing in Alaska, fruit picking in New Zealand, teacher in Galapagos, research assistant for climate change in the Arctic, Fulbright Foundation recipient in Japan, crew member on ocean going sailboats, head cook for a fish camp, photographer, acoustic musician, bartender, tour guide, pet sitter, estate groundskeeper. ISA Certified Arborist since 1995. Teacher of the Year Pope High School.

Six months out of each year I travel on my sailboat. For a home sitting assignment, when not sailing, I will bring a positive attitude, an intuitive nature, a willingness to adapt, and a high level of integrity and professionalism so you can relax care free while away. Let's talk!

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Italy, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 5 September 2018
Until: 15 November 2020

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2018

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Fall in Chattanooga, Tennessee

Joe was an excellent house and dog sitter. He was incredibly attentive and was a really great communicator. Before the housesit he drove down from Atlanta to meet us and our dogs and get a lay of the land, which was above and beyond. While we were away Joe regularly sent text messages and pictures of the dogs, which we really appreciated. He left the house in really great shape (neatness is important to us, and he was very neat!). We wholeheartedly recommend Joe for other housesits. Also, we'd be happy to be a reference for him, so please feel free to reach out to us if you'd like.

Spenser, United States, 22 October, 2018

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 3 September 2019