Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retiree: Available anytime. Will travel anywhere in the world, for as long as permitted by Immigration

Canada

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonial s (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s) – A small abandonned monkey in Venezuela Also looked after some cows and horses on a friend's farm in my "younger" years.

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 14 February 2020
Until: 28 November 2030

Occupation

Retired

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

PRESENTLY IN PANAMA AND AVAILABLE.

Have had a long life and career. Parle Francais couramment, speak English fluently y yo hablo poquito Espanol.

Have done a 3 year stint in the Royal Canadian Navy. Also had an interesting 30 year career with Canada Post, climbing the ladder from mailman to Officer. Retired in 1994 from our Administration Head office in Ottawa, Canada.

Have done what might be called 3 "unofficial" house sitting: spent 2 years converting my sister cottage to permanent housing, while babysitting her 3 children, 1 dog and 1 cat during their absences. Also house sat a French friend house in Venezuela for 6 months while he went back to France to work. At the same time, was refurbishing an abandoned Posada ( B&B): photo of Restaurant roof being redoned by non experienced crew in photos. Managed a friend's B&B in Venezuela during their absences, at the same time, freshening it up.

-Lived on my sailboat from January 1999 to September 2016.
-November 2017 to October 2018, traveling/living in my 35'Motorhome, spending 6 months in the US and 6 months in Canada.

Why they want to house sit

I plan on changing my life to be able to travel everywhere possible, as I have itchy feet, but having an interesting Port of Call. I have lived in 5 Provinces and 1 Territory in Canada ( half of the 2nd biggest country in the world ), Also, spent 5 out of 7 years in South Africa, 1-1/2 year in Trinidad, 13 years in Venezuela, while living/sailing on my 36' sailboat. Spent so much time in the USA, I may say that I also lived there. Among that, did spend 1 year traveling in my 35' motorhome, in the US and Canada ( November 2017 to October 2018 ). Visited more than 25 other countries, mostly for medium duration stay. You can easily realize that I definitely love to travel.

What is most important for me to share is, although I had partners at time, I spent a lot of time alone on my 36' sailboat and a 35' Motorhome over the past 25 years, I am very neat and tidy. I hate messes with a passion. I believe there's a place for everything, and everything in it's place.

I am willing to go anywhere in the world, and stay as long as necessary. As long as the duration of the stay is sufficiently long enough to justify the cost of transportation. I do not mind months or years.

Their experience

I now have 2 testimonials from my previous assignments in France and in Panama. I can also do my best at getting references from my friends in Venezuela. I can possibly get character references from Diesel Tech Services in Lethbridge, Alberta where I parked my Motorhome for free in their parking lot from Mid-May to October 3rd 2018, in exchange for cleaning the parking lot and acting as night watchman. I refuse to work for a salary. Mind you, anything coming my way is always welcomed.
I can also get references from some AirBnB in Panama And Costa Rica where I spent 5 months, from September 2016 to February 2017,
While in Paso Ancho, where I got a cheaper rate, in exchange for doing repairs, renovations and helping out at the Airbnb, I also traveled all over Panama during that stay. During that period, spent 1 month in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica.
I am sure the owners can vouch for my tidiness and quality of workmanship, should you need that type of references.
I can easily get a Criminal Record Report from the Canadian Mounted Police as I had one done for my investment in Venezuela previously. Am still not behind bars, but free as a bird !!! Just kidding!!!

In the process of becoming a " professional " house sitter. Since becoming member of MindMyHouse ( October 2018 ), have now completed 5 assignments. Am also member of Workaway.
LOOKING FOR THE NEXT ONE.

1) Villefranche-sur-Mer, France 11/2018 @ 02/2019
3 months ( No animals )
2) Uverito, Panama 04/2019 @ 08/2019
4-1/2 months ( 2 dogs + 3 cats )
3) Ojochal, Costa Rica 09/28/2019 @ 10/15/2019
18 days ( 2 dogs + 1 cat )
4) David, Panama 10/27/2019 @ 11/18/2019
22 days ( 1 cat )
5) WORKAWAY: Boquete, :Panama 16/12/2019 @ 31/01/2020
1-1/2 month ( Bees and butterflies )

What can they bring to the assignment

My name is Jacques-Andre. The first part, Jacques, translated to English is Jack. You found my secret: I am a "Jack-of-all Trades", but Master of none, evidently . I have renovated 4 of my own houses, a friend's house and converted my sister's cottage to permanent living. Also organized an inexperienced crew to help me renovate an abandoned posada in Venezuela and freshen-up a friend's B&B there.

While sailing/living on my sailboat, I was very much into fixing, maintaining it as it was built in 1977. You need some repairs, renovations or improvements to your castle, just say the word, I'm your man. Well... that is if you have the necessary tools.

I have had a few dogs, cats, fishes, 1 horse and even a monkey at one time. I do love animals and children, probably more than adults !!! Just kidding !!! But it is the truth nevertheless. Just kidding again !!!

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Colombia, Costa Rica, France, Italy, Mexico, North East Asia, Panama, Philippines, Portugal, South Africa, South Pacific, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United States

Availability dates

From: 14 February 2020
Until: 28 November 2030

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2018

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old

Testimonials

Here's your house sitter.

We wanted a house sitter to keep our house secure and take care of our cat. He did that, and so much more: 1. Fixed the front door that had been dragging across the floor. Adjusted the hinges to make it level and replaced the lock that didn't work. 2. Kept every room clean and tidy better than when we left it. 3. Fixed the water faucet that leaked when the washer was in use. 4. Cleaned the yards and did a better job than anyone we hired to do it, 5. Kept the cat happy and his room and liter box fresh. I haven't thought of anything he didn't do and I'll contact him first, the next time we go traveling for 3 weeks

Pam, Panama, 09 December, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

Jacques helped aboard our boat for two months and looked after it during my absence. I found jacques to be very helpful and reliable He is a very friendly person and easy to get on with. Jacques is very handy and helped me with several projects during his stay. I have no hesitation in reccomending him to any future host you will not be dissapointed

david, France, 24 February, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 14 February 2020