Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced and skillful couple to care for your pets and home

Netherlands

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Bird(s), Fish, Tortoise/Turtle(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s) – Administer drugs to cats and dogs, milk goats

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 8 September 2019
Until: 31 December 2020

Occupation

Biologist

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

George (69) and Yvonne (67), retired biologist PhD and documentalist. We speak English and understand German and French, for easier communication we studied some Italian and Spanish. During our professional career we worked in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, Miami, Florida and Kuopio, Finland. We travelled a lot, both in Europe and the USA. Given the choice we prefer to eat organic products. Mature, tidy, non-smoking, sober, proactive, responsible, caring, and respectful of the property of others.

Why they want to house sit

We like to travel, see places, meet people and live in other cultures. In this phase of our life we would like to focus on art, history and culture, but we are open to any assignment.

Their experience

We live in Amsterdam, The Netherlands and offer our house sitting services since 2008. Our skills enable us to take good care of the house we watch over. We have experience in living and working abroad which enables us to handle whatever challenges might occur. On house sit assignments we usually do not pay for utilities.
We used to have a dog and a cat. We sat in the The Netherlands, the UK, France, Italy, Sicily and Greece where we took care of cats and dogs, sheep, goats, chickens and turtles. Unfortunately George is allergic to guinea pigs. We also maintained a salt water pool and did some (permaculture) gardening. We could send a few references.

What can they bring to the assignment

Great respect for quality furnishings and homes. Our commitment to give your pets and home good care, our ability to manage the environment in foreign countries and a broad variety of life experience.
 

Available to house sit

Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 8 September 2019
Until: 31 December 2020

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2008

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Testimonials

Experienced, caring sitters

George and Yvonne house sat our dog for a month this year, (June/July). It was our first experience of using house sitters and we were rather nervous about the arrangement, however contact and communication with George and Yvonne was very reassuring and made the process easy and stress free. During our holiday we received welcomed updates and text messages which meant we relaxed and enjoyed ourselves knowing that all was well at home. On our return, the flat was clean and tidy, the garden had been kept alive through a particularly hot and rain free month, (thank you George and Yvonne, we are delighted), our mail had been collected and most importantly, we were welcomed by a happy and contented dog. We can't thank both of you enough and recommend you to all prospective house/pet owners.

Jean , United Kingdom, 02 August, 2018

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 14 July 2019