Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Active and Adventurous Animal-Loving American Couple In Our 50s/60s

United States

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Farm animal(s) – We have had numerous pets over the years, including dogs, cats, rabbits, rats (not a huge fan!), hamsters, and hedgehogs!

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 27 January 2024
Until: 31 December 2025

Occupation

Writer

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

We are the Kellys!

We might have been married for more than 35 years, but we're always up for an adventure.

We are a non-smoking couple, have been homeowners for decades, pet owners even longer. We have gone through periods when we had cats and then dogs.

Until recently, we had two beloved dogs, Cassie and Dulcie, both Shih-Tzu/poodle mixes. We lost our sweet 17 1/2 year old Cassie 3 years ago, and miss her terribly. And when we unexpectedly lost Dulcie a year later, we thought our hearts would shatter.

Given our late dogs' ages, and medical requirements, we are very comfortable and experienced caring for geriatric pets.

Bruce is super-fond of cats, Leslie's all about the dogs. (Though we both love each!) Bruce spent a lot of time around stables growing up, with a great deal of experience caring for horses. Bruce is also great at quick, basic home repairs.

We've raised three beautiful daughters, all of whom are happy and settled. Now it's our turn to go enjoy some new experiences.

We've lived in some of the most beautiful places in the USA, including Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Florida, New Mexico, and we now live in glorious Colorado at the base of the Rocky Mountains. Weekends often find us hiking, kayaking, or just communing with nature, but we're also big fans of the cities of Denver and Boulder, which offer great cultural opportunities. We love the arts and theater and actually owned a theater company, producing and directing musicals. Mostly we just enjoy exploring new places, savoring the quiet outdoors or the vibe of a new city, meeting new people, and spending time with our best friends--each other.

Bruce is a Federal employee nearing retirement with lots of vacation time in which to explore. Leslie is a multi-published, New York Times Bestselling fiction writer whose job goes with her anywhere.

Give us a chance and we'll take extra-special care of your home and your beloved pets. If you'd like to get to know us better, check out our web and social media pages:

www.facebook.com/leslieakelly
www.facebook.com/brucedkelly
www.facebook.com/authorlesliekelly
www.leslieAkelly.com
www.lesliekelly.com

Why they want to house sit

With retirement heading our way very soon, we'd really like to do some world traveling to get an idea of where we might eventually like to settle down. After 35 years of marriage, we're still happiest in each other's company and want to experience new places hand-in-hand.

Although we're American (actually, Leslie is half-Canadian) we have a love for all cultures and experiences!

Their experience

We've only gone on two housesits through Mind My House, and both were great! But they are our only references on this site. However, we are extremely experienced homeowners, and we have had a few experiences taking care of homes and pets for friends and neighbors. We house sat at a 45 acre Maryland farm with a 150 year old house and several animals--cats, dogs, horses. We've also taken care of a lovely home with a 200 pound great dane, and a home in Florida with a pool and two kitties. (References available upon request!)

We'd be happy to talk on the phone or video chat so you can get to know us better!

What can they bring to the assignment

We have been homeowners for decades. Bruce is really good at basic repairs, including electrical and basic plumbing, and has taken care of swimming pool maintenance at our place in Florida. Leslie enjoys interior work including painting, as well as gardening. She likes to maintain a neat house, enjoys cooking, loves taking dogs on walks and has no problem with yard cleanup.

We're both animal lovers, with experience caring for dogs and cats, as well as a few farm animals.

Bruce retires in late 2023 and Leslie's writing career travels with her wherever she goes.

We can offer stability, maturity, extreme responsibility, and an up-for-anything attitude.

Available to house sit

Austria, Canada, Caribbean, Costa Rica, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Availability dates

From: 27 January 2024
Until: 31 December 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2018

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2

Testimonials

Great time for our cats!

Leslie and Bruce looked after our house and our cats for two weeks. They really care for animals, and our cats had a wonderful time. Leslie and Bruce spent a lot of time with them and kept in touch with us throughout their stay. They are independent and organized, so we were able to travel worry-free. It was a real pleasure meeting them too.

Katja, Italy, 04 August, 2022

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

If you are looking for a delightful, fun, and hardworking couple, then Bruce and Leslie Kelly are the best!!

We had the delightful experience of having Bruce and Leslie Kelly be with us to help out at Chateau/Manoir du Mur July 2019. This couple was incredibly responsible, hard-working and fun to be with, all at the same time! They went well beyond what we could have dreamed of in helping us in cleaning, preparing and greeting our home-stay guests. Additionally they helped make the gardens and rooms within the property more beautiful, and brought much needed organization to inventory at the property, all while completing projects that we have wanted to complete for quite awhile! Bruce laid a carpet and put up baseboards, completely transforming to beauty one of our rooms in the Manoir! Leslie made the apartments sparkle, and helped immensely with putting inventory that was chaos into much needed and appreciated organization. They were fabulous with our Yorkshire Terrier, (even giving him a grooming during their stay!) and were incredibly loving and helpful with our 5 year old grandson. If you have a chance to engage this lovely couple at your place, grab them quick!!

Ernie and Terry, France, 23 August, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 27 January 2024