Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Helpful and handy, honest and reliable married English couple. Living in Spain, travelling in Europe, with small, female, non moulting dog. Non smokers and one tee totaler!

Spain

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Other animal(s) – Up for just about anything, though if we felt that we would not be capable we would say, not just bluff!

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 24 August 2021
Until: 19 November 2024
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Reliable couple with plenty of practical skills. Aged 55 and 64 (hopefully you can tell which is which) we like cycling and I (Janie) love walking, especially if there are hills. As we are based in Jávea, Spain and have a campervan as transport we would drive to sits rather than fly in. We feel this provides better flexibility for the owner.

Why they want to house sit

A base and something to occupy ourselves with when away from our home in Spain. We have a camper and have travelled extensively in Western Europe but are finding we prefer to feel a little more grounded but still explore new places, house sitting gives us that.
During our last house sit we got re acquainted with guinea pigs....which was lovely!

Their experience

Please read this reference link I could not add to our profile https://docs.google.com/document/d/1JqFOw-Oj9DyonG97jtQcCFjtwi6FdKVaAMZvp-aI8zM/edit?usp=drivesdk
Experienced with houses,we have renovated a few. Experienced with animals, our sits have had fish, guinea pigs and a cat another was three dogs (small to large) another a tortoise. Previously horses, cows and dogs of course. We owned geese at one property, great fun, so fowl are fine as well.
I was a cleaner in private houses for many years, those people are now my friends.

What can they bring to the assignment

Honesty, reliability, practicality, common sense. The comfort of knowing we would spend most of the time at the property, no compunction for long day trips or evenings out. We are very security conscious, and have lived without near neighbours and one house we owned we had to ford a river at times to get home, not got the vehicle for that now though!
We enjoy the company of animals, they rely on us for so much, being there for them is vital, a two way street as they give so much back. I (Janie) don't eat meat and Bob does not eat so much now. We are both non smokers and in fact are very intolerant of the habit. I also do not drink alcohol and Bob is a moderate drinker.

Available to house sit

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland

Availability dates

From: 24 August 2021
Until: 19 November 2024

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
11 July 2020 to 19 September 2020

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

House and dog sitters of the highest standard

Janie and Bob were our chosen house sitters for a five week period this summer (2019). We were absolutely delighted that we made the right choice as from the moment they arrived the dogs took a shine to them both, and of course their own easy going little dog `Izzy`. We have three dogs in total, two being rescue dogs who have not had the easiest of lives and are a bit nervous of strangers, but everyone seemed to be friends from the beginning and we went off on our travels comfortable in the knowledge that the dogs and house, were in good hands. We were kept updated with pictures of very relaxed, happy mutts and on our return were delighted by the cleanliness of the house and the condition of all three dogs. To top it all, off Bob baked some lovely carrot cakes and biscotti for us to enjoy. We can thoroughly recommend Janie and Bob to any potential house/pet sit and we hope to see them again, as do our dogs. Mike and Eli Hill

Mike, Portugal, 20 August, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 18 September 2022