Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Please ask about dates in 2023 . We will try and help

United Kingdom


They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Goat(s) – Have a go at anything with enthusiasm and care .

Police check

They have a police check


From: 1 April 2023
Until: 31 December 2025
(see their busy times below)


Community Transport


They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

About Us
March 2023 onwards - Just ask us !
We are a couple of England based empty nesters (I am 62 Sue 60) . I am a retired police officer , who has continued to work since retirement in 2008, in a variety of roles, both paid and voluntary. We are both non smokers , light , social drinkers, and not 'party people'. In the last 7 years, following a reappraisal of what is important to Sue and I in our lives, we are exploring other more interesting ways of working, having had enough after 35 years , of working for the government in the public sector. I have just finished as a delivery/collection, and vehicle demonstrator for Mitsubishi, focusing on electric vehicles, which did suit me as I have become actively interested in green issues, the environment ,and using clean fuels .I now work in a new role as a community transport bus driver locally, offering mobility to those who would otherwise struggle to get out and about. Due to COVID 19.My wife Sue would join me on assignment as she has now been able to slowly reduce her hours and take back control of her working life, whilst being flexible . Sue works as a pre- admission and elective care specialist nurse (NHS) at a local large general hospital .
We are lucky enough to be financially stable enough to consider long term worldwide sits .
We have two daughters aged 30 and 27, who do their own thing, both having now left home. They have both travelled widely, and have infected us with the ‘travel bug’ .In 2016 we travelled independently to Sri Lanka and India and loved it, then again early in 2017 to Costa Rica for a month, enjoying independent travel , roughing it , and being close to nature , which we love. We are very flexible, honest and hardworking, and would consider anything, anytime, anywhere. We very much believe life is for living, rushes by before you know it, and you never really know what’s around the corner. We remain young at heart, positive and optimistic, and have always had animals around the house as the girls grew up. In 2014 we lost our lovely old Irish setter, and then joined this site to indulge our love of travel and dogs. We love family life ,walking, cycling, football (soccer !) cricket, rugby union , live music , good food and wine, real ale , sharing activities such as puzzles, games and cooking, planning new adventures together, and trying new things. We have just moved house, hopefully for the last time , certainly within the UK to a more manageably sized home .We consider ourselves European (as well as English) and may well finally end up living in the EU. We think that the concept of this site, doing some house sitting and animal caring so exciting, especially at this particular moment in our life adventure .Once accepted for a sit , we would never back out and let anybody down, unless for a desperate family emergency . We are both also currently UK Police checked.
Thanks for reading this and we hope to meet you soon!

Why they want to house sit

March 2023 onwards - Just ask us !
The primary reason is an enjoyment of house and animal care, coupled with adventure and travel and meeting new people , and offering a valuable , professional service.We like to house sit to immerse ourselves in the local culture away from the tourist traps, and get to interact with real locals and make new friends, and attempting to promote the UK. I speak a little French and improving Spanish, and Sue is taking beginners French lessons and enjoying that. We love the outdoors, and love walking, especially with dogs, cycling and exploring. My wife is an excellent cyclist, having been bitten by the bug, whilst training for a massive challenge to raise funds for ladies cancer charities a few years ago, and we are becoming more of an ‘outdoorsy’ couple. We would also like to be able to have some practical hands on experience of being more self-sufficient food wise for the future, so this could be a great learning curve for us too, if we could take on some fruit , vedge and chicken cultivation and care whilst sitting. We have also learned how to chemically balance and maintain an outdoor swimming pool after a recent sit .

Their experience

March 2023 onwards - Just ask us !
We are fit, active, healthy and love to exercise. We have owned headstrong dogs in the past, and really enjoyed the challenges that posed, and never really had any problems. We are confident and relaxed 'pack leaders' whatever the size and nature of the dog. We have had a menagerie of everything that crawls, fly's and burrows as the girls grew up, it just added to the fun of it all.In fact, probably for us, the bigger and more active the dog, the better. We currently have two tom cats, one rescued, and one with three legs as outlined above .These two cats are two of six we have owned over the years . We have now completed several other sits both at home in the UK , Europe and the USA , and loved them all .We have had a great time, and met lots of great dogs , cats and nice , interesting people. We have tended vineyards and olive groves .We have completed more sits than are shown on this site, as we tend to get invited back subsequently by private arrangement. We are also used to looking after my best friend’s dog, who suffers from multiple chronic health problems, and needs much care and medication. We very much appreciate it is quite a step for people to entrust their home and pets to total strangers, and we would be totally respectful not only of the home owner and pets, but of the neighbours and the local environment too. We do have external references which I have been unable (as yet) to add to our profile due to IT issues (mine)

What can they bring to the assignment

March 2023 onwards - Just ask us !
The most important thing for us is for you to know that your home and any animals entrusted to us come first .We would offer a great service, way above the basics , giving you total peace of mind, and any animals entrusted into our care would be very well looked after. Anything we would seek to do would come after ,and be secondary to ,our main role of looking after your home and pets . You would always have peace of mind that things are being very well looked after in your absence .We would be more than happy , if you wanted to, to keep in touch with updates whilst you are away for extra peace of mind. We are calm , practical , problem solvers always keen to 'get stuck in and have a go whilst appreciating our limitations. We are clean, tidy, and organised .We are experienced house and animal sitters and love it , and have dealt with any minor issues arising on sits quickly and easily . We are happy to deal with local tradespeople and any neighbours ,and we communicate well with others and are friendly , and sociable . We love our house sitting and have done several now, often invited back afterwards .We are also totally reliable and have never let anybody down when we commit to sit . We have lots of references , not on this site , which we can provide on request.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 1 April 2023
Until: 31 December 2025

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
9 January 2023 to 31 March 2023, 18 June 2023 to 1 July 2023, 11 July 2023 to 31 July 2023

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1


Great house sitters

From the time that we invited Sue and Simon to take care of our house on Crete for a couple of months during summer 2019 we enjoyed excellent communication which served to confirm that we had made the right choice of house sitters and this view was reinforced when we met them on Crete. Fortunately we were able to spend a couple of ‘handover’ days with Simon and Sue and it was quickly apparent that the house and garden would be in good hands during our absence. Obviously a practical and competent couple, Simon and Sue seem to have adapted easily to Crete’s summer heat and dealt with a short-term water shortage without any drama. We had no hesitation offering Simon and Sue use of our car during their stay which was as anticipated handed back cleaned and with a full tank. The original plan was that Sue and Simon would take care of our cat Molly but following a series of accidents and run-ins with the local wildlife we considered it safer for Molly to stay in a cattery during our absence – I think to the disappointment of our house sitters. Sadly we were not able to spend time with Simon and Sue before they left but arrangements for handover of the house and car to our daughter car at Heraklion airport were completed without a hitch. We hope to meet up with Simon & Sue again some time in the future. Monica & Peter, September 2019

Monica and Peter, Greece, 24 August, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 18 September 2023