Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired professional and animal / nature lover

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s) – I love animals of all species.

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 17 December 2019
Until: 31 December 2020
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

School Psycholologist, mostly-retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hello, thanks for your interest! I'm a mostly-retired school psychologist living in Tucson AZ. I am available to house/pet-sit for short-term as well as long-term periods, preferably here in the west, but Florida is also of interest to me, as I have family there. I will gladly take excellent care of your home, bring in and/or forward mail, monitor the integrity of the house and its systems, do light yard maintenance and care, feed all of the animals (dogs, cats, chickens or whatever), play with and walk the dogs, schmooze with, play, and pet the cats, water plants, etc., etc. (whatever is needed) in exchange for having a comfortable place to stay and enjoy the environs. I'm green-leaning and so am reasonably conservative with utilities and am enthusiastic about recycling as much as your community allows.

Why they want to house sit

I love the win-win aspect of this kind of exchange! I enjoy traveling to beautiful, interesting places and being able to stay in comfortable abodes with animals, and in return provide great care for the homes and pets. I just love animals and enjoy having them around, as their presence enhances my travel experiences. I also like being of use in helping them to not miss their humans so much. I believe I communicate well with animals, am experienced, and I do enjoy making sure they are healthy and happy.

Their experience

I have been a member of another site, HousesittersAmerica.com, for several years, mainly as a home/pet-owner. I've had several house/pet-sitters over the years, and they have always worked out very well. Since retiring in 2018, I am starting to take pet/house-sitting assignments. Fall '18 I completed a 3- week pet/house-sitting assignment in Prescott, AZ, (with my pups) and really enjoyed it (as did all the pets and the home-owner), and have continued to do pet/house-sitting for that home-owner. Last summer while renting a yurt at a vacation ranch in OR, the owners were called away unexpectedly, and I took over feeding the horses, chickens, dogs, and cat for a week. I actually enjoyed that part of my vacation more than any other!

When traveling in the west (not Florida), I'd like to bring my beagles along, if convenient and agreeable to all, depending on the circumstances and home-owner preferences.. They are friendly, house-broken, and well-behaved. They are used to other dogs of all types, as well as cats, and have shown that they make instant friends with and companions to the animals of the house.

I am a life-long dog and cat owner and animal/nature lover. I'm a long-time rescue/foster volunteer and currently am a foster kitten/cat parent for Hermitage Cat Rescue in Tucson. As a school psychologist, my primary interests have been ethology (animal behavior) and nature. As an AZ state-certified school psychologist, I have a current security clearance. I have a bachelors degree from FSU, and masters degrees from UF and WCU. I am also a former US Treasury Dept employee, and have excellent credit (will happily provide documentation).

Over the years, I have owned a long-haired dachshund, a lab mix, several terrier mixes, and some coolcats. I currently have 2 friendly, calm, well-behaved, house-trained beagle-mix dogs (Sunny and Breezy) who get along well with humans as well as others in the animal kingdom.

I have several recent references from my pet-sit in Prescott and recommendations from folks who have pet/house-sat for me and so know my dogs. See below for some endorsements I have received. I will happily provide contact info for these folks (they have given me permission to do so). I also have personal references from neighbors and associates who have known me (and my dogs) awhile and can vouch for me.

What can they bring to the assignment

I am a responsible pet-owner and long-time home-owner in Tucson and appreciate the importance of saying what I mean and meaning what I say; that is, being diligent, responsible, and honest. I'm healthy, have no physical limitations, and enjoy taking dogs on long walks. I have a reliable Subaru that can handle mountain roads. Please don't hesitate to ask any questions you may have. Thank you!

Previous Recommendations and comments from Homeowners and petsitters:

SHEILA (home-owner), Sit Date: Sept. 2018) : “Gracia house-sat for us while we were gone for two and a half weeks. She is fabulous. She took wonderful care of our two pets, a cat and a dog, gave them lots of love, took our dog on many walks, and cared for them as we would have. She sent us lots of photos which we really enjoyed and which allowed us not to worry. Our house was in tiptop shape when we got home, the pets very happy, and we are happy too. I recommend Gracia without reservations!”

Michael and Rebecca (pet-sitters), Sit Date: Dec 2017: "We had so much fun with Sunny and Breezy and Gracia has a wonderful, cozy home in a great location... We surely hope to have an opportunity to help Gracia out again!"

Karrie (pet-sitter), Sit Date: Apr 2017: "I only wish I could have had longer than the 4 nights with Gracia's gorgeous girls! ... Breezy and Sunny (the younger, more flighty one!) were a pleasure to walk. Initially I walked them separately but found Sunny walked better alongside Breezy ... They were very sociable with other dogs they met and get along together very well. They're affectionate, low maintenance dogs and I'll be sure to stay in touch with Gracia for when I'm next in her part of the world!"

JC (pet-sitter), Sit Date: Jul 2016: "The friendly dogs are just an added bonus!"

Available to house sit

Canada, United States

Availability dates

From: 17 December 2019
Until: 31 December 2020

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
15 May 2020 to 26 May 2020

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 17 October 2019