Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Lyn & Ian - footloose & fancy free



They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Farm animal(s) – Lyn grew up on a dairy farm, Ian stayed with relatives on farms throughout his youth

Police check

They have a police check


From: 8 March 2023
Until: 31 October 2025
(see their busy times below)


Blissfully retired


They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We have reached an age where we can explore the world at our own pace.
We are relatively active, non-smokers who love to see different parts of our own country and the world.
We own our own house (& recently sold a holiday rental) and appreciate when people care for it with love and attention as if it were their own.
We are happy to garden, look after pets, and get our exercise & hands dirty with any jobs that need doing.

Why they want to house sit

Post COVID, I think we're ready to explore again. If anyone would like their home and animals loved for a few weeks/months next year (2023), please let us know.
House sitting/swapping allows us to get the feel of a region without feeling like too much of a tourist.
We originally used House Sitting as a means to finding a place to retire - we found our forever home in Tas, Australia.
We're also open to house swapping.

Their experience

We have done a number of house sits now - 3 through contacts on this site - most recently for 3 months on a small farmlet in NSW, and before that, a few years ago now, both times in Spain. The first time for 2 weeks in the North of Spain, looking after a dog and a large 1 acre garden. The 2nd time was a week in a remote cottage in the wheat belt in southern Spain, looking after 2 dogs and a cat.
After COVID reduced world travel, we joined a local house sit site and did 3 house-sits in Queensland in 2020 - 2 short term, then a 4 month one, all with various dogs and cats.
We also do private house sitting for friends and acquaintances within Australia, which we've done in Barossa and Pambula.
We then did a 3 month house sit in Tasmania in 2021, which led to us finding our forever home.

What can they bring to the assignment

We bring enthusiasm, a bit of life experience at our age, and a willingness to try anything.

Available to house sit

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Pacific, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Availability dates

From: 8 March 2023
Until: 31 October 2025

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
17 June 2023 to 9 August 2023

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2


Thank you Lyn & Ian

Ian & Lynette looked after our home, cats, chooks & goldfish for 3 months whilst we were away, they got involved with and fitted well into our local community and cared for our pets our home and our garden even planting out our veggie garden for the coming season (thank you guys) during our trip they kept in touch enough to give us peace of mind that what we cared for was in good hands, we can highly recommend Ian and Lyn for any house sitting position and will most certainly be in touch when we next head off

Sarah, Australia, 13 October, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 7 March 2023