Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Caring, active (non-smoking) couple to watch over your house, pets and garden!

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Rodent(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 28 February 2023
Until: 5 September 2024

Occupation

English Teacher

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hi there! We are Todd and Mairin. We both grew up on the East Coast of the US, but relocated to Oregon as adults and have called it home since 2001. We really enjoy hiking, camping and exploring the outdoors.

Besides being outside, our passions are music, food, and travel. Mairin especially loves to garden and cook with fresh local ingredients and was a regular at the weekly farmer's market in Hood River. We both like to try street food on our travels and will eat pretty much anything once (although we said no to balut in the Philippines...). We also enjoy beer and wine, discovering local craft brews and varietals when we travel.

Travel is a huge part of our lives right now, as we completed a 15 month trip around Asia and Europe in early 2018, then transitioned to living and teaching English abroad. Along the way, we discovered many new cultures, met new friends and learned more about ourselves and the world around us.

As far as work and careers we both have over 20 years of experience in the restaurant industry, working in every capacity including years of upper level management. We would like to have some sort of business of our own in the future, although exactly what is still to be determined. Currently, we are enjoying teaching English online and
traveling from housesit to housesit.

As far as what we are looking for in a housesit - we love both country and city and are comfortable in rustic environments.

Because of our current jobs teaching English online, we do need access to fast reliable internet. Since we are Americans, we cannot stay in the Schengen area of Europe for longer than 90 days at a time so super long sits there are out for us, unfortunately (however if you are flexible and have a long sit which you could break up into 3 month time periods we would love it!).

Other than that we are open to lots of new experiences all over the world and meeting more like-minded folks.

Why they want to house sit

Housesitting for us is ideal for several reasons. As a couple in our 40's, we really enjoy slow travel.

Having owned a home for so long, we appreciate settling into a place for a bit longer and really feeling the local vibe where we are. We like to hit up the markets and cook and discover the local area on foot as much as possible.

Finally, we miss having pets at home. We like to give other homeowners the opportunity to travel knowing their pets are in good hands and to perhaps make some new friends in other countries. Since we work from home, it makes tending to a house and pets even easier.

Their experience

Todd and I owned a home in Portland, OR for seven years before selling it and deciding to travel. We kept up with regular maintenance while transforming the yard over time into a gardener's paradise. We had a huge garden and also several free-range chickens, so we are comfortable taking care of your garden and outdoor flocks.

I should also note that we are avid recyclers and even had our own compost while we owned our home. We really care for the environment and try to use as little waste as possible in our daily lives. We are mature enough to treat your house as we treated our own home over the years and our rentals before and after that.

We have both owned dogs and many cats over the years as well as our pet chickens and rabbits!

We have house and pet sat on a number of occasions, keeping several dogs, cats, and even rats company. Some of these were directly through friends and others were through another housesitting site. We have gotten stellar reviews from everyone so far, including the one sit on this site.

We have also used AirBnB quite a bit and have great reviews from hosts all over the world. Feel free to ask about Mairin's profile on there if you would like some more references.

What can they bring to the assignment

We bring a positive attitude to your abode and pets. We keep a clean house and have no problem maintaining gardens or lawns or even doing some other light chores.

We have a regular schedule as well since our teaching jobs are stable. While we like to explore, we wouldn't ever leave the property for days at a time.

With our history of management in the service industry, we are willing to help out at properties that may require customer service (lodges or airbnb type places), including light cooking or cleaning, admin tasks or even social media (Mairin ran social media accounts for several restaurants previous to traveling).

We are both very level headed and use common sense when dealing with problems or any situations that may arise.

Get in touch with us! We love to Skype with people to see if the situation is a win-win.

Available to house sit

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 28 February 2023
Until: 5 September 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Mairin and Todd - perfect house sitters

Mairin and Todd minded our house, cat and rental apartment over a 3 month period over the summer months of 2019 here in Malaga. First of all, they are lovely people, with kind hearts and a love of animals. They were very accommodating and willingly did everything we asked of them with zero fuss. Our sit is not the easiest as we ask our sitters to clean and prepare our rental property for holidaymakers who arrive and leave every week or fortnight. Also they had to greet them and look after their needs during their stay. Mairin and Todd were clean and efficient and we had excellent comments from our guests who said how welcoming they were. They also looked after our quite needy cat, Sooty, wonderfully, and he was sad to see them go, and our apartment was left in tip-top condition. Everything was left exactly as it was, even better, and there were a lot of extra things left for us which we weren't expecting. We had jars of pickle and chilli sauce which we both love left in the fridge, and as Mairin and I both like baking our own bread, some sourdough starter was also on the go and ready for use. There were other things that they had bought during their stay which they left for us too, so the house was improved by their stay. They also prepared a meal for us for when we arrived back which was delicious and much appreciated. They were perfect sitters for us, and we would very much like them to return to sit for us again next year if they can. We can't recommend them highly enough!

Hugh, Spain, 12 November, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 19 September 2022