Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

A Free Pet Care Service is offered by Flexible, Retired, Artist and Author Seeking the French Connection!

United Kingdom

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Pets: We have looked after cats and an eccentric Alsation needing daily medication.

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 2 August 2020
Until: 21 January 2022

Occupation

Retired English language teacher

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

My husband and I are retired non-smoking English as a Foreign Language teachers (aged 60 + )  formerly employed by the British Council and are experienced house sitters. We have travelled widely through our profession and finally came to rest in the Welsh mountains. We live in two little cottages (mortgage free!) arranged on three floors clinging to a damp hillside with wonderful views. We live a very creative life. I am a full time artist and my husband is a full time author. If you google our names you will find that we have a fairly large footprint on the web. If you are at all curious about my artwork click on www.artwanted.com/margarita or www.fineartamerica.com where you can view my work. We are a professional, responsible couple looking for a house sit anywhere in France, including Paris. We are also interested in Switzerland, Spain and Italy.

We tend to be home bodies and so we would be spending a lot of time with any animals in our care.Our creative lives of writing and painting are very important to us. House sits in towns, and busy villages with amenities nearby are preferable. The internet and a printer (for printing out airline tickets and boarding cards etc) shopping online, research for our books and generally keeping in touch,  is crucial. We travel with our own laptops. We do not charge for our pet caring and translation services. We are just as happy in a town or a village with good amenities as we prefer to leave our car behind in the UK.

We are flexible, our passports are in order and we can fly to the  parts of Europe mentioned above at any time! References supplied on request.

 

Why they want to house sit

We have been talking about buying a house in France for 15 years and we're still doing just that. House sitting is a way of making up our minds once and for all in terms of where we would like to live and how we would cope with the bureaucracy of the French systems. Also, having had the privilege of travelling to some interesting parts of the world and meeting some amazing people for over 20 years, we find we are missing this aspect of our lives now that we are retired. We have been house sitting since 2008 and for the last seven years we have been looking after a house plus cat in Provence for three months and a house and gardens in Ile de France for three years. Where possible we prefer to build up trust with regular house sits that offer continuity. We enjoy very much the opportunity to integrate with the French community.

I am currently writing a a book of short stories and would benefit from some authentic background and fresh inspiration for my artwork.

Their experience

We  are very experienced house-sitters  and began in 2008 with a  house sit in Pas de Calais, Cat sitting for a year in Rochechouart in the Limousin, a dog sit in Central Paris and a further cat sitting in the Langeudoc. For the last six and four years respectively we have looked after an Alsation dog in Fontainebleau and a cat in Provence. All have been long term house sits. Ideally four weeks would be the minimum where possible.  We are both animal lovers. We have had cats and dogs down the years and we are quite capable of looking after cats, dogs, rabbits, hamsters and chickens. We are both home bodies and tend to be with the animals 24/7. We would be able to give them the special  TLC  they need. We are both honest and trustworthy and like tidiness and order.We have been house and cat sitting for three months for an owner in Provence for the last seven years and have built up a system built on trust and continuity.

What can they bring to the assignment

My husband speaks excellent French, Russian, German and Spanish and I speak Spanish and am currently learning French. ( I have Spanish blood!) He would be able to assist in translation of documents, or negotiate with the  Maire or other officials. He could also explain homeowner's requirements to French builders, plumbers or electricians if necessary.

 We are both interested in gardening. Also we can walk the dogs and look after the cats, and feed the chickens.

Where ever you are in France/Switzerland/Italy/Spain /Portugal or Turkey, we will be  available from 1st February, 2012  If you have Skype and  and a webcam and would like to chat, my call sign is Marietta41 tel. 01639 849225. Simply email us to arrange a time to talk.Alternatively we can use Zoom.

 

 

 

References can be emailed directly by our referees on request.

Available to house sit

Denmark, France, Greece, Italy, Norway, Portugal, Spain

Availability dates

From: 2 August 2020
Until: 21 January 2022

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2008

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 1 August 2020