Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired Military Couple for your Home/Pets Care Like Family

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s) – Brenda did grow up on a farm with the animals listed above, Mike is more general (cats and dogs).

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 19 August 2019
Until: 31 December 2020

Occupation

Retired Military

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

Brenda and I are retired military and have been living in the Tidewater area of Virginia for the last 4 years but have been here for the better part of 20 years (work, family, vacation). We have owned many properties from Omaha, NE to Virginia Beach, VA Completing many of our own improvements, from tiling, painting, installing ceiling fans, toilets and many other (MINOR) repairs and improvements. We are looking to come in and hopefully set at ease the concern that comes with leaving your possessions, home and pets in order to take that well deserved vacation, reunion or to attend to that family emergency that arises from time to time. We have had our share of pets but for the last 5 years have been more into just enjoying our eight grandchildren and many more grand nieces and nephews. Now we are looking to take a couple of years or so to enjoy more time traveling, meeting new people and just enjoying what life brings next.

I'm not sure where our number or email goes so I will place it here in addition to the Title:
919-247-6907 /// barmstead812@yahoo.com

Why they want to house sit

We have been discussing what we are interested in doing before we become too old to do it (laughs). Having the opportunity to travel over seas during our military career we have never really taken the chance to see and enjoy those things just up and down our great East Coast.

"WE ARE NOT looking for compensation for house sitting, beyond remaining in the residence at NO cost to ourselves beyond our own food while we provide you with the peace of mind of ensuring your home and pets are safe and secure."

From seeing the leaves change in Vermont, to the Waterfalls of Niagara, Times Square in New York, to the Liberty Bell in Philadelphia, Stone Mountain in Georgia, to the Keys of Florida. If there seems to be a theme with the east coast it's only because at this early junction of beginning house sitting, we figured to stay close to where the grand children are (Virginia) so that if we do have the breaks in between we can easily come back to them or even bring them to us. BUT NEVER INTO A HOMEOWNERS RESIDENCE.
We simply want to assist where we can, those who want or need it while enjoying the opportunity to meet many more friends to be.

Their experience

Our experience comes from owning our own properties over the years, condominiums, townhouses, single family homes. We have been board members of our home owners association in North Carolina, (Michael was President). We have of course taken care of our own children's homes and their children for short and extended periods. We are also members of Airbnb and have received excellent reviews in our few stays. Additionally, we have had the experience of maintaining multi-million dollar aircraft and the equipment to inspect, repair, and maintain them. From electrical auxiliary power units to oxygen carts and the equipment that pilots and aircrew would use in case of an in-flight emergency, such as oxygen masks, life rafts, parachutes, and life vests. Are we capable of using a wrench and hammer, yes. Will we ask you the basic questions of emergency shut-offs for water, gas, etc, Fido's veterinary number and address. yes. Because it usually just comes down to keeping a cool head in an emergency situation.

What can they bring to the assignment

Mike and I believe that we offer maturity, knowledge of home and pet ownership, and the ability to give to others that trust in caring for some of the most important things in your life. Understanding that when we treat those people or things as if they were a part of our family or household is the ONLY way we should treat others. We are NON-smokers and believe most importantly that house sitting gives us the opportunity to enjoy our neighbors and learn more about ourselves, always improving and hopefully giving something back that helps others also.

Available to house sit

United States

Availability dates

From: 19 August 2019
Until: 31 December 2020

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old
Family status: Couple

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 12 May 2019