Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Animal loving, very practical, honest and reliable

United Kingdom


They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s) – Carina worked many years for the RSPCA

Police check

They have a police check


From: 21 March 2022
Until: 23 March 2025
(see their busy times below)




They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We are Martin and Carina living in Canterbury, Kent, UK. We have both taken early retirement from long careers in the fire service and now find unloved houses and make them new again lead by Martin’s building skills and Carina’s design. We are both non smokers in good health enjoying an active lifestyle including running, cycling, skiing, kayaking and off course walking dogs. We both love music and cooking following a plant based diet. We are keen gardeners and enjoy growing vegetables in our polytunnel.
We feel a house is a home when there are animals living with you.

Why they want to house sit

Our children are independent now so house sitting seems to be the obvious way for us to combine our love of animals whilst travelling to discover places and cultures.

Their experience

Between us we have experience of caring for a range of animals including dogs, cats, pigs, goats, horses, chickens, geese, ducks, rabbits, hamsters, gerbils, tortoise, fish and a parrot. We have both completed a pet first aid and CPR course as we are aware that some house sits are very rural and involve long travel distances to the nearest vets. We are confident and kind with all animals understanding their individual needs be they elderly or young. We are able to accommodate pets needing extensive exercise, including long runs, but equally happy to go for a slow walk with older family members. We have experience of large boisterous breeds as well as anti social and medically unwell animals and are happy to administer medication. We also have experience of pool cleaning and maintenance and have house sat in off grid properties therefore gaining an understanding of the relevant systems needed to run such homes.

What can they bring to the assignment

Life and our many years of commitment to high standards in a trusted and caring emergency service has given us the skills and ability to deal with any problems that may arise in a calm and empathetic manner. We are both fully vaccinated and both have current enhanced Police vetting. Martin has passable French language skills from working many years with the French fire service at the Channel Tunnel and we are both learning Spanish.
We are both positive and responsible people and a couple that you can trust implicitly with your home and beloved pets. We will leave your home clean and tidy and your pets happy and loved.
We are an honest and caring couple who are committed to looking after your animals first and foremost, therefore fast wifi is not important to us as we will not be 'working from home'. Through previous house sitting experience we understand some owners require daily communication whilst others not so much and we will facilitate to your satisfaction.
We are happy to consider house sitting all animals, any locations, climates and durations. We are equally comfortable in a town or rural location.

Available to house sit

Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bolivia, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 21 March 2022
Until: 23 March 2025

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
1 January 2023 to 1 January 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2


Fantastic house and pet sitters!

Carina and Martin looked after our windmill and our animals (1 dog, 2 cats, 4 goats) for a month and they did an amazing job. The animals quickly warmed to them and our dog, who is usually nervous around new people, liked them instantly. They looked after and treated our animals so well. They are very practical people and real problem solvers, so rather than contacting us if a problem arose, they just sorted it out between them. They were very respectful about keeping in contact - they gave us regular updates but not too often, this gave us real peace of mind but also allowed us to enjoy our time away from home. We would not hesitate to have them back at the windmill and we recommend them 200%

Fiona, Portugal, 27 December, 2021

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 28 November 2022