Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced house and pet sitter

United States


They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Reptile(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s) – I have assisted in the birth of mice, kittens, puppies, horses, deer, I witnessed a shark birth but I was not very helpful. All of my animals live for very long periods of time. People make comments anyway when they do decide to move on they are cremated

Police check

They don't have a police check


From: 30 December 2021
Until: 5 September 2023


Self employed


They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

My name is Lorelei and I am a 54 year old American female. I have spent the last 20 years living in Kentucky on my 5 acre horse farm in Kentucky.I have been fortunate to exchange farm/pet sitting with friends and neighbors over the years, during that time and I have gained a lot of experience. In a small community like mine it was easy to trust your neighbors and everyone looked after each other.

I have come to understand though that it can be very hard to find someone who can be flexible, responsible and animal minded while covering all the responsibilities that keep things going at a property. And of course including a necessity list and sometimes just a plain wish list. I am sympathetic to these concerns and feel that the best exchange I can offer is to allow you to be worry free while you are away from your home and pets.

I have lived all over the US and had the opportunity to travel overseas extensively when I was young, before family and children. I am now single after 24 years and find myself with the luxury of very few responsibilities anymore. I have had several businesses over the years and I have learned a lot about people and myself. I have owned restaurants, retail stores and rental properties and hold a Kentucky real estate license. I am very handy and I love real estate and travel. I am now writing and would I like to get back to seeing the world.

I have had animals all my life. My first pet was my kindergarten class Guinea pig, “Sandy” he went home with me after the school year ended and it goes on from there…… frogs, lizards, tarantula, snakes, fish, rabbits, chickens, birds, cats, dogs, cow, horses! I should not mention the wild creatures that shared my farm with me but I appreciated their company too. So I love animals.

I am very responsible and conscientious and I believe that animals are beautiful spirits to be learned from as are we all. I understand the importance of medications and routine for animals especially when their humans are gone. I am an outdoor person so if your pet likes to explore then so do I.

I am a very tidy person. I think everything has a place. It makes things easier to find at least. I know how to take care of a home and a farm. I was solely responsible the repairs and remodeling if not heavy construction on my farm and at my rental properties. I had an enormous green house that was full of organic lettuces and veggies in the winter and I grew many more fruits and vegetables outside in the summer. My flower garden was also impressive.

I am familiar with mowing and gardening equipment and I have taken care of my 25,000 gallon pool and hot tub for 20 years.

I hope this is not too long winded and it gives you an idea of the kind of person that I am.

When house sitting and caring for pets I am looking for honesty mainly, good instruction and a clear understanding of what is required of the property and animals.

I believe that good communication, emergency contacts and clear instruction is very important and critical to a successful stay.

Please feel free to contact me if you like my profile. I am seeking longer term stays in order to get a feel for the unique culture of each area and to experience the people, food and the history each has to offer. A good WiFi signal is a must so that I may work.

Peace, Love and Happiness

Why they want to house sit

I enjoy meeting new people, seeing the world and experiencing new cultures.

Their experience

I have extensive experience in property management and caring for my farm. I have helped neighbors with their animals and farms while they are away and I have always had my own house full of creatures.

I had the opportunity to care for a home, cat and dog in Jamaica for 7 weeks in the summer 2019 through Mind My House and it was a great experience.

COVID put a halt to my traveling and everything else in life. On February 12, 2021, I received my full vaccination and on May 1, 2021 I began traveling again. I spent 8 weeks exploring Croatia and Greece. I fell in love with the land and the people in both countries and I vowed to return.

As luck might have it, I returned to Crete for a 7 week house sit with 11 kitties on August 11, 2021. This was also a Mind My House listing.

Over the summer of 2021 I will have done 3 house sits domestically plusCrete in August.

Upon returning from Crete on October 15 I will be house sitting for a couple, a dog and a cat in South Carolina where my daughter attends University of South Carolina. I accepted this house sit from another website and can provide references if needed.

What can they bring to the assignment

I hope to provide comfort not only to your animals but also to you in the form of confidence that your home, personal belongs and most importantly that your animals are being loved and cared for.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 30 December 2021
Until: 5 September 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 3


Lorelei was the Purrfect House Sitter

Lorelei looked after our house and garden, 5 home cats and at least 5 campo cats, for just over six weeks. She not only looked after the place, but improved it, by adding additional plants around the patio areas. The cats were obviously spoilt as they were moaning at me as if to say, "Lorelei would sit and stroke us, why can't you"? The house was lovely and clean when I got back and everything was as we left it. Lorelei integrated with the villages and I know one family who miss her already. It was lovely to see Lorelei fit in with the community. Lorelei is trustworthy, confident, intelligent and a pleasure to know. Thank you Lorelei for looking after our house and cats and we hope to see you again next year. :)

Fiona, Greece, 12 October, 2021

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 7 January 2022