Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced house sitters, Honest, Non-smoking, Responsible who will treat your pets and house with respect

Australia

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 8 May 2023
Until: 14 December 2024

Occupation

Police officer, Retired

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

We are Leonard and Marcela Horwood. We are a married couple from Sydney, Australia. We have made the decision we want to stay in Europe or United Kingdom for about 10 years.
We are travelling around Europe and United Kingdom in our Mercedes van, with plans to settle “somewhere” for a few years. We are finding house sitting a fun way to research areas we would like to live.
We are organised and very trustworthy. We enjoy a good laugh. We are clean, tidy and respect other people's property, believes and opinions.
We still own a house in Australia and financially stable.
We are quiet, non-smoking, homebodies, who enjoy walking, cycling, gardening and travelling.
Before house-sits we check in at intervals so that owners have the confidence that we will arrive as agreed.
During house-sits, we are very respectful of the owners’ home, security and privacy. We appreciate that owner's pets are grieving for their family so only spend a short time away from home. Pets always come first. We forward owners pics of mail and pets while they are away. We treat house-sits as we would a paid job, and work with owners so that they have a worry-free break.

Leonard is a Mechanical Engineer. He started and managed his own Engineering business from 1988 until it was sold in 2000. He then served as a Police officer in Australia from 2001 to 2019.
Marcela is a retired Engineering Sales Manager.

We both enjoy house renovation and gardening.

We both have experience with caring for cats and dogs. We love the affection they can give when properly cared for.
Leonard owned a small hobby farm in Australia for about 8 years. During this time, he was involved in breeding Labradors and raising and caring for Border Collie and Poodle. In addition, he as experience with caring for cows, horses, chickens, sheep and goats.
Marcela loves cats. She raised her cat, Mickey. She found him in 2008 when he was about 1 day old. He is now being cared for by friends in Australia.

Why they want to house sit

We love visiting new places, living like a local while meeting new people and their pets.

We understand our animals are important family members. We understand that upsetting their routine can be very stressful. We also understand that animals can suffer stress and anxiety.
By giving our experience, kindness and relaxed nature when caring for animals, we will be rewarded when we bond and earn the trust of the animal. We wish to give home owners piece of mind knowing that when they return, their animal will be relaxed and happy.

Their experience

We have been house sitting in Europe since 2015.
Our first house sits were in France.
Please read the references they gave us from another website:
.
We cared for Mark and Tina's 2 Bernese Mountain dogs and 3 cats.
Mark and Tina Green own and manage Les Cheres Meres, Farmhouse B&B, France states:
"We went on holiday and had LJ and Marcela come and live in our house and look after our animals. They cared for our two dogs and three cats for about 3 weeks. We were not worried while we were away and when we returned everything was clean and as we had left, and more importantly our animals were happy! we would know if they weren't happy and if they wouldn't been loved and cared for in our absence. One of dogs was ill and they managed to get him into their car and take him to the vet. Even with the language barrier they managed, and then then had to administer tables to him daily. They informed us by email whilst we were away and kept us up to date with his progress. When we returned we were extremely happy to see that everything was lovely and I would be happy for LJ and Marcela to care for my animals and property at anytime. I found them to be honest and trustworthy people. I would highly recommend them to anyone who is considering them for a similar assignment. "
Yours Faithfully, Tina Green
Les Cheres Meres
St Mars d'Outille, 72220 Sarthe, South Le Mans
(Dated 25 June 2016)
.
We cared for Jan and Mick's 3 cats and chickens and cut the lawns.
Jan and Mick Waters own and manage La Maison en Pierre & La Vieille Maison Holiday Homes, France states:
"LJ and Marcela house sat for us in France for 3 weeks in April. Upon meeting them we immediately felt at ease with leaving them with our 3 cats and five chickens. They looked after everything we requested and we had complete peace of mind while we were away. On our return we found the animals had been very well taken care of. In fact, our most timid cat who never went outside and always ran away when visitors arrived came out of her shell while we were away and now actively greets friends and demands attention from them. She goes out everyday and is a changed cat. Leaving her with LJ and Marcela did her the world of good. They were very respectful of our property and we would recommend them to anyone looking for a house sitter."
Mick and Jan Waters.
26 Route de Ste Hermine
85210 St Juire Champgillon
Vendee, France
(Dated 20 June 2016)

What can they bring to the assignment

We are relaxed, easy going, punctual and trustworthy.

Available to house sit

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mauritius, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 8 May 2023
Until: 14 December 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Fantastic couple

Leonard an Marcela are a lovely, friendly couple. Very organised and easy communicate with before and during their stay. One of our cats, Alice, fell ill just a few days before we left but Marcela helped her recover fully, taking her to the vet and then nursing her back to health. Thank you so much. Dinner was ready for us when we arrived back and they left the house very clean and tidy. Highly recommend them.

Amanda, France, 10 February, 2020

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 14 October 2022