Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Multilingual, responsible, and resourceful world travelers who love pets!

United Kingdom

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Reptile(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 7 February 2023
Until: 30 September 2025

Occupation

Professor; Academic Editor & Consultant

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We have 30 five-star TrustedHousesit ratings from our previous pet-sitting adventures and are looking forward to more. As full-time house sitters, we are vaccinated and have the Pfizer booster. We also have US passports.

We’ve housesat throughout different periods of the pandemic and are therefore well-versed in preparation for housesits in these challenging times as well as being flexible given your possible travel constraints.

I transitioned in 2019 from being a tenured professor to a full-time remote worker as an academic editor, writer, and coach. Seva is a language professor who teaches university language courses online in Italian, ?Spanish, ?and ?Russian? (he also speaks French, Portuguese, Ukrainian, and some Turkish). He is also a painter.

Seva is the kind of person who makes 10 friends on the first day of arriving somewhere! I’m more introverted, which makes us a perfect match.

We’re tidy, resourceful, responsible, and, most of all, love pets. We're both non-smokers.

Here's a review from Italy:

"Rose and Seva are dream housesitters! Our dog was well loved and well cared for plus our house was very clean upon our return. We had been nervous about leaving Ciro alone for the first time, which was compounded by the distance between Italy and Australia, but we felt very reassured after our first video call by Rose and Seva's calm and professional nature. They communicated frequently and were understanding of the time delay of our responses given the time differences. They also managed to keep all of our numerous plants alive despite their varied needs and the time of year. It's difficult to write anything that hasn't already been said about them, but if Rose and Seva apply to look after your pet, we can't recommend them more highly."

Here’s a review from the UK:

“We are so grateful to Rose & Seva for looking after our home, pets & garden so well whilst we were on holiday. We met them briefly before we left, and we were immediately reassured that everything was in safe hands. The house was immaculately clean and tidy on our return home & Rose had very kindly laundered the linen and towels. We had a significant amount of plants in the garden, including a big crop of tomatoes whilst we were away & Seva even took the time to make some tomato sauce for us rather than let them go to waste. We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Rose & Seva as housesitters. Thank you both so very much.”

Here's another review from the UK:

"Rose and Seva are pro housesitters! We felt completely comfortable leaving our boisterous labrador with them. They arrived the night before we were leaving and Pablo was immediately besotted with both. They kept us updated every day sending pictures out and about with the boy and communication was clear and easy from the get-go. We arrived to a spotless house, clean laundry, and the basics (eggs, milk, fruit, etc). Our dog was clearly happy and healthy on return. We would completely recommend this lovely couple and would love to cross paths again in the future."

Here’s Rose's editing website (https://roseernst.net/about/) and Seva’s painting website (https://sevaart.com/).

If you need additional references, please let us know. We’d be happy to skype/zoom with you about the housesit as well.

Why they want to house sit

We love traveling, meeting new people, and most especially spending time with loveable, cuddly animals!

Their experience

Our current housesitting experience includes cats (Moggies and Persians), dogs, donkeys, chickens, doves, rabbits, and fish. The dog breeds we've cared for include English Spaniel, Welsh Corgi, Golden Doodle, Golden Retriever, Labrador, Šarplaninac, Border Terrier, Lakeland Terrier, Patterdale Terrier, Mini-Schnauzer, Ridgeback-cross, Pekingese, Whippet/Collie, an unknown mid-to-large dog breed (a very active one-year-old), and two other mid-size unknown breeds (both rescues). We have also cared for calves in Cornwall!

We have cared for friends, family, and colleagues' homes and pets in the past in addition to our current housesitting experience. We have had plenty of experience being long-term tenants, besides owning our apartment.

Seva grew up on a farm in Ukraine, so he is comfortable in that environment. Rose is eager to learn. We both enjoy gardening, though we do not have any specific expertise. We recently sat for a smallholding in Scotland (chickens, donkeys, and dogs).

Between the two of us, we've had the following pets throughout our lives: cats, dogs, chickens, pigs, rats, gerbils, turtles, and fish.

Finally, we've had experience dealing with older pets, including hypo and hyperthyroid cats. We've also had the delight of caring for kittens!

What can they bring to the assignment

Seva speaks French, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Ukrainian. Rose speaks a bit of German. We are at ease navigating difficult situations (which hopefully won't arise), and won't hesitate to ask for help should we need it. Rose is an organizational neat freak, so she will be sure to make sure your house is clean and organized. We love animals and will be sure to treat your pet as our own.

Available to house sit

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Availability dates

From: 7 February 2023
Until: 30 September 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Testimonial for Rose and Seva

Rose and Seva were wonderful and considerate house-sitters. The place was left clean and tidy but above all they were kind and caring with Poppy and treated her like their own little dog. They kept me well informed about Poppy and sent regular messages and photos. I do hope they can come back sometime and mind Poppy again. I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely couple as house sitters /dog minders. Thank-you Rose and Seva!

Judy, United Kingdom, 05 October, 2020

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 5 February 2023