Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired from a career in education and now training for Disaster Relief and Animal Rescue

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 1 September 2020
Until: 30 November 2020

Occupation

Retired

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

Greetings!
My name is Robin but friends often call me Robby. Friends and family mean everything to me and I am blessed to have so many cherished people in my life. Let me share a bit about myself that I think my chums would be willing to say. I am educated and have several graduate-level degrees. I work hard at everything I do. I recently retired from an amazing career teaching and administration in special education.

My childhood home is in North Dakota but I have also lived in Florida, Minnesota, Washington and 20+ wonderful years in the mountains of Colorado. I have always had an enduring desire to travel and explore places in the world. I have had the great fortune to spend time in wonderful places such as Australia, Norway, Thailand, Italy and lovely islands throughout the Caribbean.

In addition to family, friends and traveling what brings me the greatest joys are animals. I volunteer at a rescue shelter and participate in fundraising events. My own child, Sydney, is a 10-year-old Flatcoat Retriever mix I adopted through a no-kill puppy rescue.
My Gal is always by my side and if I absolutely have to leave her, it is always with safe caring people. I hate to admit it but I have missed events if Sydney couldn't attend.

I say this because I truly DO understand how it feels to leave your cherished home and four-legged loved ones. This I take to heart.

Why they want to house sit

I am transitioning from a career in education, now retired, to working in animal welfare, rescue and rehabilitation. I want to travel as much as I can for the next two years while I complete my certification. Housesitting really is two-fold in that is allows me to have safe comfortable places to stay when I travel as well as being able to incorporate the experiences of caring for animals into my training and I can write about this as well.
I believe the best-case scenario is always when it's a good fit for both parties and with housesitting it truly is a win-win for the homeowner, their loving pets as well as it is for me.

Their experience

I am new to Mind My House but can say I have helped many friends and family over the years to care for their homes, pets, and children. My best examples to share are the times when my sister and her husband go out of town and I successfully care for their five kids, three dogs, one cat. This includes driving the kids to school and activities, exercising and feeding the pets, shopping and errands, laundry, homework, cooking, and I always make sure the house is clean upon their return.
I am very safety conscious and always make sure I have the necessary information for emergency situations, which includes basic first aid resources, any medications, any diet or exercise instructions and professional and/or personal contacts I can access if needed.
Perhaps it is the educator in me but I also will do daily logs to share what has been happening and how things are going, this can include photos, which is fun.

What can they bring to the assignment

It may seem like a simple concept, but I use common sense. I treat others as I would like to be treated and that goes for property and loved ones as well.

Available to house sit

Canada, Caribbean, Mexico, United States

Availability dates

From: 1 September 2020
Until: 30 November 2020

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 5 May 2020