Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced (over 15 years) house and pet sitters with consistently 5* references



They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Pig(s), Other animal(s) – Before becoming a teacher, John was worked as a warden in the Longleat Safari Park and Dudley Zoo and Birmingham Zoo (headkeeper). He has degrees in anthropology and has also been a police officer in Birmingham. Jane has worked for many years as a carer,

Police check

They have a police check


From: 1 May 2023
Until: 2 June 2024




They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

John & Jane are both retired-ish (John - therapist/teacher/ Jane - Counsellor) and living in SE Ireland in coastal Wexford, but we flit back and forth to the UK every few weeks. We love where we live but we also like to travel and see new places, and over the past ten years we have had many house/pet sitting assignments in UK, Spain, Ireland, Bulgaria, and Australia. John has dual UK and Canadian citizenship.

Why they want to house sit

UK, Ireland, Europe, Canada, Australia (but other locations would always be considered).

Their experience

We have been house sitting for over 15 years and have only ever had 5* references (although most were on Trusted House Sitters and we let our subscription lapse when they put their prices up. We'll try and get them copied over from another site).

We have had assignments in the UK, Ireland, Europe, Australia, and many of these were repeat clients.

What can they bring to the assignment

Trustworthy and professional, with proven integrity, resourcefulness, reliability and experience -- all of which would provide you with peace of mind; we ourselves are pet-owning house owners who also have people sitting for us from time to time, so we understand the need to only consider house sitters in whom you have total trust, who will give your pets and your home dedicated care. Both of us have proven expertise in the care of a wide range of animals, as the section below demonstrates. John used to work for the Lions of Longleat and Dudley Zoo, Jane has a degree in animal management.

We have lived in UK, Ireland, Australia, Canada, and Bulgaria so we have a wide range of life-experience in many different countries.

Available to house sit

Australia, Austria, France, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 1 May 2023
Until: 2 June 2024

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1


Jane and John Castleford

It is the first time we have used Jane and John to house/pet sit for us, but hopefully it will not be the last ! After returning from nearly three weeks away, we were very happy with what we found. The pool was sparklingly clean, looking as if it had been attended to by a pro, the plants well watered and cared for (to the extent that some of them looked better than they had ever looked under our watch!), and the two cats happy and contented (and one of the them can be shy and not too easy!). We were 100% happy with everything. Jane and John were also friendly and professional with their attention to detail, and we would give them a score of 12 plus out of 10, and also welcome them back to our house at anytime. Betsy and David

David, Spain, 15 October, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 2 March 2023