Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

WE ARE PETA & BOB AND WOULD LOVE TO LOOK AFTER YOUR PRECIOUS HOME & PETS

Australia

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Guinea pig(s), Reptile(s), Farm animal(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 5 May 2020
Until: 31 December 2021

Occupation

Retired bookshop owners

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

We are PETA (Semmens) and BOB (Lloyd), newly retired independent bookshop owners currently living in the town of Busselton, which is nestled on the shores of Geographe Bay, South West Western Australia in an area known as The Margaret River Region. We were both born in Australia.

We are fit and healthy and have been happily married for many years. Whenever possible we have always had pets of our own and, until recently, we shared our home with our much beloved cat, Bomsch, who died quite recently at the grand old age of 21. We still have 10 fish in our pond and another 5 fish in an aquarium at the bookshop.

I (Peta) was born on a dairy farm on the outskirts of Busselton and have been surrounded by animals, large and small, my entire life. Apart from the usual array of dogs, cats, fish and birds my Mother was well known in our farming district as a carer for injured, stray and orphaned wildlife. Subsequently we also shared our home with orphaned or rejected lambs, calves, birds of all sizes and, of course our favourites, baby kangaroos and wallabies.

Bob was born into an animal loving family in Melbourne and was never without a pet dog and a number of different varieties of birds. His love of animals was further nurtured by frequent trips to their family friend’s farming property in rural Victoria.

For many years we were very lucky to be able to combine our passionate love of travel with our work in the mining industry. We lived and worked in such diverse places as New Zealand, Botswana, Vietnam, Russia (Siberia for 4 years!), Kazakhstan and Sierra Leone.
On our breaks we would also travel, falling in love with places as we went and vowing to return as soon as we could.

We returned to Busselton in 2004 when my Mother’s health deteriorated, and we wanted to spend quality time with her. The time I got to spend with Mum was absolutely precious and I will always be grateful for that.

Now she is gone it is time for our next adventure and having spoken to a great friend, Peter Bridgement, who has been a member of Mind My House for many years, we realised that this is the perfect way to combine everything we really love – travel, pets and, if we are very lucky, even a chance to engage in our other passion – gardening. Peter says he is more than happy to provide us with a reference if you would like.

We promise we will take very good care of your beautiful, precious pets and home and promise to treat them as if they were our own.

Cheers
Peta & Bob

Why they want to house sit

We found when working and travelling with our work it was far better to live in a place than simply visit as a tourist. We would like to do this again.

Their experience

Yes, we have house and pet sat many time for friends, family and others to whom we were recommended. We found it to be a very rewarding and fabulous to experience new adventures.

What can they bring to the assignment

Love of travel, love of gardening, love of animals. Experience in living in all types of countries, communities and cultures.

Available to house sit

Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 5 May 2020
Until: 31 December 2021

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 12 October 2019