Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

PhD students and Pet-lover seeking house-sits, flexible in location, dates and other arrangements

United Kingdom

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Other animal(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 20 May 2024
Until: 1 September 2024

Occupation

PhD Student

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hello!
I hope this finds you well :)

My name is Ollie, I am PhD student of Medical Anthropology (Animal Ethics) at the University of St.Andrews and Oxford. I am working in both Oxford and London this year and am looking to be based in either or in between these areas.
Above all, however, I'm looking for places with pets that I can shower with affection and take for long walks with me! I have experience as a vegetarian chef and will spend free time cooking food with local ingredients or else be practicing instruments and writing songs. I'm looking for a place that needs a trust worthy, clean and responsible sitter who wishes to practice his crafts In peace (preferably in the company of animals!)

Why they want to house sit

I grew up in a house surrounded with pets. I clearly remember the yearly struggle and heartbreak of having to leave them behind whilst my family left for summer holidays. The anxiety of not knowing who was looking after my companions was horrific. Now I have the time and ability but no pets of my own, I am eager to help assuage the same fears of other owners.

Moreover, as I mentioned above, I am looking for places to research and practice my crafts (music, veg cooking and wood carving) in peace.

Their experience

I began house sitting when I was 20 years old, through informal networks and facebook groups. So far I have looked after 5 properties in 5 countries (England, Scotland, Canada, France and the UAE).
. I have unfortunately had the experience of looking after Ill pets, having to take one dog to the hospital and daily vet visits subsequently due to a chronic illness.
Since then I have looked after a 9 bedroom house in Italy (Lake Como) a country home in the Loire Valley, France, two flats in central Edinburgh, a town house in London and an historic estate in North Scotland, using my spare time to help with DIY repairs (which is great carpentry practice!) and work in the gardens.

In addition to house sitting, I have also worked in the hospitality industry (in Bnbs) and am well used to maintaining clean standards of properties. I understand no amount of self promotion will suffice as evidence for my experience so please do let me know if you would like references from previous sitting experiences and/or a Skype call to discuss matters!

What can they bring to the assignment

.A respectful and grateful attitude
.A joyful care of animals and their companionship.
.Confidence in administrating medicines and basic medical care for dogs and cats
.7 years experience in caring for other people's houses in 5 countries
.My assurance for the maintenance of a clean living space
.Flexible arrangements to suit you and your pets
.Open and cheerful communication to whatever extent you desire

Last updated: 24 April 2024

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 20 May 2024
Until: 1 September 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 26-35 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since November 2019