Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Mature & responsible animal lovers with thirst for adventure & travel! We are newly retired and eager to see the world! We own a beautiful home, have raised dogs who have lived very long and active lives, and have home/dog/cat sit in the U.S. & Caribbean

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Guinea pig(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 14 February 2020
Until: 1 April 2021

Occupation

Not stated

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We are a youthful, well-traveled, open-minded and flexible couple who love animals, beauty in all forms, and adventure. We are newly retired (Denise, Asst. Dean at University and Rick, Technical Project Manager) though may find ways to work part-time remotely. We own a beautiful home adjacent to the Blue Ridge Mountains in the U.S., and are newly dog-free since our beloved Elliot passed away recently. We take exceptional care of our home and 3.5 acres, and our Labrador dogs lived to ages 14.5 and 16. Ideally, we are looking to house/pet sit homes that are very clean & tidy, have modern amenities, and located either in city centers or the country. We've raised dogs that required both rigorous and minimal training, and are loving and attentive to animals. We have experience with dogs, cats, fish and guinea pigs, and would love to be in the company of and learn about other animals including horses, donkeys, goats, hens, and chickens. We are both in great physical shape and love to walk dogs for long and short distances. Rick is very handy and can fix just about anything in and outside of a house. We both love to hike, swim, bike, cook, dance, read, and watch films, and Denise is an avid yogi and knitter (perpetual beginner!).

Why they want to house sit

It seems like a lovely way to see the world! We lived in the Caribbean years ago and rented a villa which came with a cat and dog, and loved this arrangement. We would rather stay in cozy homes than hotels, and would enjoy the companionship of pets.

Their experience

We are new to this model though have house and pet sat for friends and family for many years. When visiting friends and family, Denise quickly becomes the dog-walker, groomer and bather, and we are always welcomed back! We have cared for friend's little & big dogs, cats and guinea pigs. We have also hired dog and house sitters over the past 15 years and each sitting was a positive experience for everyone.

What can they bring to the assignment

We are highly responsible, good communicators, and take house/pet sitting seriously. We are non-smoking vegetarians, prefer peace & quiet, favor cleanliness and order, and have solid experience with dogs and cats of all ages. We know how to train puppies and care for senior dogs, and Denise is intuitive and empathetic with animals of all kinds. We have been fortunate to travel to many destinations around the world, and love to explore new locales and cultures.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 14 February 2020
Until: 1 April 2021

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2020

Personal details


Family status: Couple

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 14 February 2020