Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Young Retirees Seeking Adventures To Have & Animals to Love!!!

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Guinea pig(s), Reptile(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 28 January 2020
Until: 16 January 2030

Occupation

Retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Mark and I are young retirees (ages 50 and 45) with adventurous spirits, love for animals, and an ever-thirsty passion for travel. Mark is originally from North Carolina and I am from Indiana. We've lived in Arkansas for the last 25 years while raising our four sons. We enjoy active hobbies together including scuba diving, camping, hiking, and riding bikes. We've even tried bicycle camping and taken a seven-day motorcycle camping trip through Colorado! Mark is a "foodie" at heart and an amazing culinary wizard (from my perspective of course). I have a green thumb (and several green fingers!) having spent many years nurturing plants in our lush garden oasis/backyard. In the early morning hours (we're early risers) we enjoy watching the sun rise, reading, and bird-watching while enjoying a nice cup of coffee! Mark is the big-picture thinker between the two of us while I manage the details and organization. Mark and I both have Master's Degrees in Business and after spending several years in the corporate "rat race", have decided it is time to follow our hearts and begin a new chapter.

What are we looking for in a house sit? Given our desire to experience new places, cultures, food, and people, we are open to various opportunities. We want to be in a safe area (should be obvious, right?) with access to internet and mobile networks to stay in touch with friends and family. Our experience with animals is mostly with dogs and cats but we are open to learning to care for other animals --except Mark says no spiders! :) For now, we are focused on house sits in North, Central, and South America as well as the Caribbean but will eventually extend to house sits all over the world. Our preference is to engage in longer-term house sits but will consider short term stays as well.

Why they want to house sit

Travel and People. There are many types of travelers in the world, most of which are tourists. We consider ourselves xenophiles and enjoy immersing ourselves in foreign cultures, learning new customs and languages, meeting new people, and trying new foods. During our vacation travels thus far, if the crowds were going one way, you would find us going the other. We seek a more authentic experience with the locals rather than a calendar of tourist activities. During our years of working and raising a family, travel time was precious yet limited and rushed. We are now blessed to have the opportunity to slow down our pace, truly drinking in all that each destination has to offer! We are SO excited for the future!!!

Animals. Over the years, we have loved and lost three wonderful dogs and two cats and will always cherish the memories in our hearts. When Zebedee (our chocolate lab) passed away, we decided there would be no more animals --losing them is painful. However, our resolve only lasted a couple of years before we rescued a German Short-hair Pointer who was about two years old--We named him Garin. He was the best dog we ever had and such a blessing! Mark did all the training and everyone who met Garin was amazed at how well he behaved. We even considered having him become a therapy dog! Now that Garin is gone, we love on the neighbor's cat, Gunther. He comes calling each morning --looking in our front window and meowing until we open the door. Gunther spends all day with us, playing, napping, and stealing our hearts. If we leave for a couple of hours, he sits on the ledge near our front door and runs to us when we pull in the driveway. Just as we "adopted" Gunther (or he "adopted" us), we will do the same to love and care for your animals during our house sit!

Their experience

We have experience house/pet sitting several times for friends and family. While we don't yet have house sitting experience utilizing this platform, you will not be disappointed in what we can offer through our life experience and skill sets. Together, we have traveled to several places in Mexico and are moving there to make it our new "home base". Other places visited include: Bonaire and Saba (Netherlands Antilles), Utila (Honduras), Dominica, and the Bahamas. Mark has even lived in Yokosuka, Japan for 3+ years while serving in the U.S. Navy. As our house sitting opportunities and experiences expand and grow, we hope to travel the world full time. We sincerely hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to care for your home and/or pets through "Mindmyhouse"!

What can they bring to the assignment

Allowing people you don't know to care for your most beloved possessions is a matter of trust and our desire is to set your mind at ease. We are financially independent and, therefore, focused solely on caring for your home and pets while you are away. This means we will not be spending hours online teaching English, blogging, or editing videos to generate income. We will communicate as frequently as you'd like with updates/pictures to set your mind at ease. I am very organized and neat and promise to keep your home in the same condition you left it, if not better!

We have experience remodeling our own home and are comfortable with tools should an emergent need arise. If you have any plants that need care, I will water and maintain them. We are experienced pet owners and will follow any detailed instructions you provide. We have cared for dogs, cats, fish, a guinea pig, (and even a chameleon) and neither of us are allergic to anything. We don't smoke (or use tobacco of any kind), do not use illicit drugs (should go without saying), and only drink socially. We are early to bed and early to rise. Some would say we have "boring" lives but our excitement comes from living life to the fullest through the places we go, people/animals we meet, and the memories we make! Now that doesn't sound boring, does it? :)

PLEASE NOTE: We joined the site Jan. 12th and are pulling our references together. We will upload them as soon as possible. Additionally, the police check takes two weeks to complete so that too is coming soon!

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, South East Asia, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 28 January 2020
Until: 16 January 2030

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2020

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old
Family status: Couple

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 28 January 2020