Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Capable Caring Considerate Couple

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Rodent(s), Goat(s), Reptile(s), Farm animal(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 9 February 2024
Until: 12 July 2025

Occupation

Landscape Architect

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

Myself (Simon) and my wife (Amy) are happiest when we are helping others. We are very active (Gym, Run, Bike, Paddle). We are both in our early 60’s married for 25 years. I am originally from the UK (Now a US Citizen) and Amy is American.
Amy has spent many years working for Doctor's Without Borders and now runs her own house maintenance business. I have had a career as a Civil Engineer and a Landscape Architect I'm now semi retired. We own our own home here in the San Francisco area. No children, but have always had cats and love them dearly (Lily is our current sweetheart).
We have traveled extensively across the world, we lived for 5 years in Malaysia and you can imagine that we got to visit some very unusual places whilst Amy was working for Doctors Without Borders!
We would love to look after your pets, house, animals, and help you with any projects you like us to take on.

Why they want to house sit

International house sitting is a huge opportunity to drop right into the local community and learn the history and culture of an area. This is more then just a ‘holiday’ experience, it is an opportunity to broaden our own horizons while helping others, We are caring, careful and will respect your house, pets and animals as we do our own.

Their experience

International House sitting...not yet, but really want to turn this into a big part of our lives.
Locally, we are always checking in on Friends and neighbors houses and feeding their pets when they are away.

What can they bring to the assignment

Amy grew up working at a stables with horses, and is used to being around them. She has kept or cared for many pets including dogs, birds, rats, a goat, turtles, small fish and a rabbit. Amy is also a serious gardener. Amy has managed field logistics and projects for Doctors Without Borders; 10 years, including stints in East, West and central Africa, Indonesia and Kyrgyzstan. Amy currently runs her own one-man “handy-person” business and has all the skills needed to work on any house project. A tough act to follow, what can I bring to the assignment? I have always been around pets, be they our own or my parents and love their company, I love long hikes with dogs (and short hikes with small dogs!). I designed and (with Amy) built much of the 2 floor addition to our current home. I have built furniture for our home, designed and built our own rain water capture system, put in landscape irrigation, we both love doing improvements and repair to our house. My passion is restoring very old motorcycles back to new condition. So I understand mechanical things as well.
Well I guess I can conclude by saying that both Amy and I are very practical, adaptable, and have many different skills to bring to any house we look after.

Last updated: 9 February 2024

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 9 February 2024
Until: 12 July 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2020

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

An absolute pleasure to have Simon and Amy with us at Chateau Le Mur!

It was an absolute pleasure to have Simon and Amy come for a month to assist us in maintaining our Chateau and Manoir in June 2023. They are both wonderful people who not only worked very hard but also shared their many global adventures with us. They are truly a remarkable team – very adaptable, super capable, talented, funny, genuine, and totally trustworthy. They solved many problems quickly on their own without having to be directed and took initiative to help us more than we expected. The got along with everyone. They were always upfront and honest and having them there onsite made the month very enjoyable and fun. Simon and Amy are delightful to be around and we enjoyed the many laughs and humor that they often expressed. We highly recommend them and would welcome them back anytime!

Ernie and Terry, France, 18 July, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since October 2023