Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Author&reader, home all the time (available late Jan through Feb in Merida, MX)

United States

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s) – Open to caring for other animals with instruction (lizards, spiders, snakes, etc. are no problem -- I don’t get the heebie jeebies).

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 21 January 2024
Until: 1 March 2025

Occupation

Freelance author, writer, editor

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

As a location independent entrepreneur, I can set up shop anywhere. I prefer stays that have strong WiFi, comfortable beds, firm wooden chairs or desk chairs, and ergonomic desks. Beyond that, all I really need is some companionship from some cute pets or plants.

Contact me for specific dates.

Looking for house sits in Merida, Mexico from the end of January through February. (I have a flight out on March 1.) I will have family members traveling with me.

Why they want to house sit

My goal is to save up money while I do my online work. I have a very needy startup that requires a good 40 hours a week. I work online, trying to turn my dream into profit. So, I really will be home to take care of your furry feline friends. I enjoy having pets around to remind me to take a break several times a day.

Their experience

I was born and raised on a country farm in West Virginia, USA, so I'm experienced with caring for a variety of animals, including cats, dogs, chickens, horses, and goats. For many years, I raised and sold chickens, chicks, and their eggs. I'm much too location independent for that, now!

I have house sat for various friends, neighbors, and family members who had cats and dogs, as well as my neighbors who owned miniature horses. Thanks to MindMyHouse, I've also house sat for new friends I'd never met before!

I'm good at making sure pets keep their normal routine when I'm petsitting with them. I'm familiar with giving cats medications mixed into their wet food once or twice a day. I clean their litter boxes, brush them, and have also trimmed their nails. I'll walk your pupper and make sure they get their dental treats.

I also have experience as a homeowner myself, dealing with broken garbage disposals, unbalanced and flooding washing machines, back yard irrigation systems, broken garage doors, malfunctioning HVAC units, and all the other headaches we homeowners deal with. I've stayed in places that required me to care for their hot tubs and pools as well. Anything else specific, feel free to ask.

What can they bring to the assignment

Visit bit.ly/tracitravels to see all my photos, testimonials, and portfolio from all platforms.

I care for the full spectrum of needy to hands-off cats, give them their medicines, and ensure they're not getting themselves into trouble (darn curious creatures!) I love taking dogs for a walk to remind me to get some fresh air and movement myself.

As a homeowner myself, I know how to deal with the usual maintenance hassles of a house, along with a few emergency ones I've encountered in my own home. See above.

Because I am a workaholic, I will actually be IN your home, watching over everything while you're gone. I'll mostly explore on the weekends. I'm a non-smoker, and I've never been a house partier, even in my college years. I'm a pretty quiet, boring type. When I'm not working at my computer, I can usually be found curled up on the couch watching Netflix or reading ebooks with the kitties around.

I am fully vaccinated with two doses of Pfizer as of May 2021, the omicron bivalent booster as of October 2022, and the 2023 booster as of this October.

I speak Spanish.

Available to house sit

Mexico, United States

Availability dates

From: 21 January 2024
Until: 1 March 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2020

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 3

Testimonials

Traci is smart, conscientious, and kind — We'd work with her again in a New York minute!

We teach and travel, so we have had the opportunity to work with many house and pet sitters over the years. Additionally, we spoil our four cats and are sticklers about keeping a neat and clean home. Even with these high standards, Traci met and exceeded our expectations. Traci was excellent with our kitties, who love people and demand lots of attention. The daily text updates were great. She took wonderful care of our home. I liked Traci right away when we initially met over Zoom; she asked good questions and communicated well. She was willing to adjust her schedule to come early to learn the routine. Furthermore, she offered to stay an extra day if we encountered flight delays getting home. This kind of offer is beyond the call of duty. She couldn't have been more accommodating. Traci took care of our home and children for a week. Halfway through, a momentary power outage took out the air conditioning. It was July in North Carolina, so it was hot! Unfortunately, it was Saturday night when we figured out something was wrong and it took a couple days to get it fixed. Traci was hot but she kept her cool. We coordinated and communicated well. Traci is an extremely mature individual who really cares about animals and their people. If you are lucky enough to have the opportunity to work with her, take it.

Bethany, United States, 24 July, 2021

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

Communicative, friendly, conscientious, and dependable!

I do not have enough good things to say about Traci! I had a medical situation I had to go out of town for, and I needed a sitter who had flexibility with dates. I was really worried about this scenario, as it is understandably less than ideal for most folks! However, Traci was completely unfazed and helpful about this. Indeed, my dates changed while I was out of town, and she rolled with it without complaint. Traci was extremely communicative and easy to reach. She has great documentation prepared for prospective home owners, and all of it was true to life! She had great questions for me, some things I hadn't thought of! I never once questioned whether she would come through. She was also super helpful to work with in regards to COVID safety, and I never doubted she would be safe. Once I was away, Traci took GREAT care of my 2 cats and dog. I got regular pictures and updates. When one of my cats had potty issues, she let me know and helped me think through what might be going on! This is truly above and beyond. When I got home, Traci had left the house spotless-probably cleaner than I left it for her! She washed the bedding and towels to boot! I genuinely couldn't say better things about Traci and will beg her to help me again in the future, if you don't snatch her up first! Highly recommend.

Blair, United States, 14 January, 2021

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 23 October 2023