Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Couple (55 & 42) available to house- and pet-sit

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Rabbit(s) – We have been fostering cats since January 2022, so we have been vetted by an animal rescue nonprofit for this purpose. Wendy has also taken an online Cat and Dog First Aid Course through the American Red Cross.

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 22 January 2023
Until: 1 August 2023

Occupation

Freelance editor

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We, Wendy and Billy, are a married couple, 55 and 42, who enjoy traveling, music, art, and writing. We have no children or pets, and we work remotely (and therefore can work from anywhere with wifi). We are also both homeowners, so we know how to take care of a house. Billy grew up on a farm, so he has experience with farm animals, and we grew up with cats and dogs. We are taking a year to travel and work remotely, and we've had housesits in Florida and the UK. We will be in Southeast Asia starting in late January 2023. We are flexible, easy-going, and responsible (& vaccinated!). I (Wendy) also certified in cat and dog first aid/CPR by the American Red Cross, and we're both nonsmokers.

Why they want to house sit

We both enjoy experiencing new places and cultures. After a few years spent at home without travel, we are eager to work remotely and see other parts of the world. After our beloved cat passed away in 2020, we started fostering cats this year, and we really miss having pet energy in our life! We've done housesits this year (2022) of both dogs and cats. The chance to have that pet energy in our life AND be in a new place is very appealing! Also, we've learned that to get to know a place, it's not enough to breeze through as a traveler. Having a chance to be somewhere for more than a month really teaches you things—about a place and about yourself.

Their experience

Yes. We have experience caring for cats, dogs, and chickens. We did a house sit in Copenhagen over Christmas in 2014 with a cat and dog through MindMyHouse, and previously, Billy was petsitting locally. In 2022, we fostered cats for a rescue organization before starting our full-time housesit adventure year. Our first stop was housesitting through TrustedHousesitters on Merritt Island, Florida (USA), looking after—and being trusted with—two historical houses, three cats, a flock of chickens, and a fruit orchard while the owners were in Germany. We’re currently taking care of two dogs in Royal Tunbridge Wells, UK from mid-September to mid-November, and we will be cat- and house-sitting again over Xmas/New year's also in the UK. We both own houses and know about their upkeep (i.e., what would constitute an emergency and what would not!). We have also lived internationally, so understand (and enjoy) the logistics of living in places that are not the United States.

What can they bring to the assignment

Responsibility, flexibility, experience, and an open mind. Experience with dog-, cat-, chicken-, and house-sitting. English/French language skills.

Available to house sit

Argentina, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 22 January 2023
Until: 1 August 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2020

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 1 November 2022