Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Self-Employed Married Couple;Nomadic Homebodies; Vegetarians; Lovers of Animals and Nature;Seeking Sits in NJ and Nearby Through End of The Year

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 13 September 2021
Until: 31 May 2022
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Life coach

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hi! We're Kelli and Ryan, a married couple interested in house sitting in various areas of the world. We particularly enjoy being in quieter areas surrounded by nature, but are open to a variety of locations.

We are newer to this site and only have one testimonial here, but the link provided for references is one to a profile on a site where we are very active and have over 20 verified reviews.

Originally from NJ, we have been location-independent and nomadic since 2011, spending most of our time abroad. After doing more domestic sits during Covid, we have developed a greater interest in exploring more of the US as well.

We began housesitting in 2014 and have done international assignments in Fiji, Bali, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Qatar, Oman, Thailand, Turkey, Panama and New Zealand.

For the first 9 years of our travels, we were lucky to have a home base at my mom's house in NJ where we could stay, and visit with friends and family as long as we wanted, but unfortunately that went away when she passed in 2020. That has been a big change. So, we are always interested in opportunities that would have us close to central NJ, including CT, NY, DE and PA.

We have no issue if you don't allow guests in your home--we would be much more likely to meet with friends and family in their own homes and elsewhere anyway.

We are very passionate about personal development and making the most of our time here, and our' journey' has allowed us to create many wonderful things, namely location-independent businesses that allow us to travel as long as we want, whenever we want.

I run a personal development blog and offer coaching services, while Ryan's business is focused on helping people build a successful blog and online business. We hope to inspire others and share the insights we have gained from our own experience in hopes it will assist them in making positive changes in their own lives, whether personally or professionally.

Most of what we do online isn't time sensitive but I do have Zoom calls with clients few hours a week, so we need generally reliable internet where outages are the exception and not the rule. If there are periodic outages, slowdowns,etc...and there is good reception to use phone data as a back up for the calls, that is okay.

In the US we have our own car. For areas where motorbike use is common like SE Asia, we are fine to rent our own. As for other international sits that require a car, we generally only consider those where one is provided (automatic). Though we may be open to renting our own in certain circumstances.

Why they want to house sit

Because the location-independent nature of our businesses allows us to travel for as long as we want, we really enjoy spending time in places for an extended period to get to know the place, the people and the culture.

Because we are working while traveling, we like some stability and the comforts of 'home.' We don't really like the type of travel where we are moving around a lot, staying in hotels,etc...

Housesitting is a perfect way to travel in our preferred manner. We are kind of 'homebodies' but like changing up where home is every so often. We also really adore animals so assignments with pets are just perfect for us, and each of your beloved pets will probably receive no fewer than three silly nicknames during our time there.

Their experience

We have done sits in an eclectic mix of environments, from a luxury property in Bali to a bare-bones house three miles into the Costa Rican jungle, with no electricity and an outhouse( interesting experience for sure...)

We have spent extended time in a variety of countries and cultures, and adapt pretty quickly to new circumstances and surroundings.

Since we started sitting in 2014, we have done dozens of sits.

What can they bring to the assignment

HUGE animal lovers and experienced in caring for cats, dogs, birds, goats, pigs and chickens; when you entrust us with your beloved pets, know that they will not just be taken care of, but truly loved and showered with plenty of affection. Ryan grew up with a variety of exotic birds and is very well-versed in their care in particular.

We have cared for animals with a variety of personalities and temperaments,from the extremely shy and timid, to former street dogs, to the highly energetic who need plenty of exercise and engagement, to those requiring strong discipline and routine. Experienced in giving a variety of medications, including insulin.

Our lifestyle is low-key and clean, and we're very committed to our health and well-being. We meditate, do yoga and exercise daily. We don't smoke or drink. Very fit , healthy and active. We are vegetarians so can easily maintain a meat-free home for anyone who prefers that.

We are quiet, enjoy our privacy and while very friendly, mostly keep to ourselves, making us very good neighbors!
While we enjoy exploring the areas in which we are staying, we aren't ones to pack our days with activities, and we spend a good deal of time at home if that is important for your pets. We don't mind being in areas where there may not be a lot going on.

We really like a clean and orderly environment so you can be assured your home will be kept in tip top condition. A frequent sentiment on our reviews is that the house was cleaner when they came back than when they left it.

We're not into night life so if you prefer people home later in the evenings for security reasons we are happy to oblige.

We have done sit in a variety of tropical areas where extensive maintenance of the property was required. Ryan is quite skilled with a machete!

I know the saying goes we will treat your home and belongings like our own, but I have always found I treat other people's things with even more care precisely because it's not mine! I'd feel much worse ruining someone else's stuff so we can do you one better!

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 13 September 2021
Until: 31 May 2022

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
13 September 2021 to 27 September 2021

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2021

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Great guys

Due to covid issues, Kelli and Ryan came in half way through our time away and settled easily into the housesit. They did a great job looking after our dog and had a very light footprint on our house. On our return it was great to meet them for the first time. Everything was in great condition and they had kept everything running smoothly. They had obviously had lots of experience at house sitting all over the world, and I would thoroughly recommend them.

Robert, Panama, 08 July, 2021

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 13 September 2021