Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Active retired Europhile couple keen to travel throughout Europe at any time of year

United Kingdom

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Farm animal(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 17 May 2022
Until: 1 July 2025

Occupation

Retired

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

We are a couple both 71 years of age with 3 adult children. We both retired in the summer of 2020. We are fortunate to live in a wonderful part of England although in a small flat chosen as an easy “lockup and leave”.
We met in our early 30s, both Londoners originally but ended up bringing up the children in a Worcestershire village, along with my mother, Lorri’s father, dogs, cats, chickens, ducks, geese and a couple of sheep. Do not ask me ever to sheer one again.
Lorri was a primary school teacher all her working life, becoming London’s youngest deputy head back in the day but choosing to raise children and remain a regular teacher.
After too much work-travel around UK and Europe, at age 40 I opened a high street showroom selling and installing fires, stoves and fireplaces which served us well during the family years, after which we semi-retired to the Devon coast. Before that we were all heavily involved with the local amateur theatre for many years
We are both totally comfortable with domestic and farm animals and miss having none, though this does allow freedom for travel. Also, in the garden Lorri has very green fingers and I will do as I am told!
We have a 4x4 car and will drive to anywhere in Europe, keen to enjoy town, village or rural life. The journey there and back will be part of the pleasure.

Why they want to house sit

We have a special affinity and former connections with many European countries and are pretty proficient at the main languages. We love the European culture and lifestyle and hope to spend half of each year there.
We are primarily interested in soaking up the atmosphere of any region from a local resident's viewpoint - watching the world go by from local cafes, buying produce from local markets and finding how best to cook it. The days of late nights out carousing are long gone sadly...

Their experience

If having owned large houses with large gardens / orchards / fields / vegetable plots with many plants and animals to care for counts as experienced, then yes we are. We have now completed three housesits - two via Nomador and one via MindMyHouse, all with very positive testimonials. Anyway they all went well and we look forward to repeating the process anywhere in southern Europe in 2022.

What can they bring to the assignment

Trust and honesty primarily. We would treat any home as we would our own and will return it to the owners as good as the day they left, as confirmed by all three assignments completed.

Last updated: 1 May 2023

Available to house sit

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain

Availability dates

From: 17 May 2022
Until: 1 July 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2021

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2

Testimonials

Calm, caring and self sufficient

Jonathan and Lorri looked after our house, pets, chickens and garden beautifully. They enjoyed their stay and made the most of what the local area and region have to offer. The cats were well loved and the hens contented. We were welcomed back to a clean, tidy house, happy pets and a lovely meal. Happy sitters, happy house owners. Thanks Jonathan and Lorri.

Carol, France, 16 April, 2022

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

House sit in Normandy

A lovely couple who kept all of our many animals alive and healthy while we were gone. They turned up when they said they would and then kept us notified with what was going on while we were away via messaging app. They had to leave just before we got home(to catch a ferry) so we didn't get to thank them in person but the property was as we left it and there were no issues. Thanks for house sitting for us and we hope you have many more house sitting adventures.

Richard, France, 09 October, 2021

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since May 2023