Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

We are dog lovers. We might be cat lovers but have never owned one so we don't know



They have 2 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Bird(s) – We have been dog owners for nearly 30 years

Police check

They have a police check


From: 25 June 2024
Until: 11 October 2025
(see their busy times below)


Retired military.


They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hello, We are George and Beth

I, George, am in my early sixties and retired from the Canadian Forces, Beth is in her late fifties and says she is almost ready to retire. Before the pandemic she worked for an airline, now she works for a bank. Our children are all grown and gone and our last furry friend has passed away after 16 years. We like to travel and still enjoy some airline privilege with Beth's former employer. As Beth is still working I occasionally travel solo and she may meet me on location.
Being retired, and I can possibly be available on one week's notice.
We are social drinkers, and we don't smoke or do drugs.
We miss having a pet and when we are finished with our travels we intend to get another. Until then we would be happy to look after your home and pets with the same care as we would look after our own.
Our preference is house and pet sits that are in cities or larger towns.
We can speak a little french and spanish.

Why they want to house sit

We enjoy travel, culture, history, most people, most cats and dogs

Their experience

In the military we were sometimes called upon by friends to look after their homes, pets, plants and sometimes children when they were called away on duty or illness.
We have completed several houses sits.

What can they bring to the assignment

120 years of combined life experiences,

30 years of home ownership,

30 years of pet care.

Last updated: 3 April 2024

Available to house sit

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Denmark, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Panama, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 25 June 2024
Until: 11 October 2025

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
7 March 2024 to 31 May 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2021

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2


Friendly, Reliable and Trustworthy

We feel very fortunate to have had George as our dog sitter! We were still getting to know our newly adopted rescue dog, Charlie, when we were called away to help with our newest grandchild. George responded quickly to our request and he immediately made us feel that our concerns of leaving Charlie for 2 weeks were not necessary. We truly appreciated that he was able to arrive early to get to meet Charlie and to familiarize himself with Charlie’s routines. George’s easy going nature and good sense of humour made communication with him very easy. He provided us with timely updates and pictures. When we returned home, our home was just as we left it and he had a supper ready for us to enjoy! George is very kind and generous. We highly recommend him as a dog sitter.

Cherie and Terry, Canada, 07 March, 2024

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Handy around the house

Thoughtful and Thorough

We loved George, as did our dog! He was proactive about asking questions and sent us regular updates. He offered to drive us to the airport so that we wouldn't need to pay for parking which was a huge plus. He is well travelled and gave us some great tips that we incorporated into our trip. He left our house spotless and had groceries in the fridge for us so we could have something to eat when we got home - its a long weekend and we wouldn't have been able to get any supplies until Saturday. He was flexible - we had a huge storm blow in and because he was close by he offered to come early so we could get a hotel at the airport (we never would have made our flight in the morning had he not offered this). He has a fantastic sense of humour and makes communication easy. I would highly recommend him. I've never felt as comfortable leaving my dog as I did leave her with George.

Ceilidh, Canada, 07 April, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Handy around the house


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since August 2023