Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Couple (ex-nurses) with 30+ housesit experiences (that's 750 days) in Europe and Central America

Netherlands

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rodent(s), Reptile(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 15 March 2024
Until: 1 January 2025
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We’re in a stable, long-lasting relationship. Both of us are keen birders and like hiking. We're non-smokers and vegetarians. Over the years, we have shown flexibility by living in houses in remote places or simple accommodation. Our motto is: ‘go with the flow’.

Why they want to house sit

We have always cared for pets, even before we became full-time housesitters. We like to cuddle and be around pets. We also like the change of environment partly because we are restless souls and because we're birdwatchers. Since May 2021 we have been housesitting (not only through MindMyHouse). We adjust quickly to new cultures in a rural, urban and local context. We have already done housesits in Costa Rica, Panama, Spain, Belgium, Germany and the Netherlands.

Their experience

We're in our 30th housesit (by Dec, '23). That's 750++ days. During those days we took care of countless pets, among them cats, birds, a few daogs and many fish. We do gardens and pot plants. We have saved the lives of ill dogs, provided medication to pets with cronical diseases, even offered complicated care.

What can they bring to the assignment

We take responsibility when you want a regular update on your pet, and your house. We have demonstrated to be conscientious and careful housesitters in a consistent manner, hence the many five-star scores (on www.https://www.trustedhousesitters.com). We can support you by solving minor technical issues in a quick and practical way if things break down, such as fixing a leak after a storm.

Last updated: 28 December 2023

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Availability dates

From: 15 March 2024
Until: 1 January 2025

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
10 January 2024 to 10 March 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2021

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 4

Testimonials

Comforting and safe

Rick and Leonie are wonderful house sitters. They have taken excellent care of our cat Isa and the fish in the backyard. Rick and Leonie house sat in the middle of backyard renovations, so there was some mess there, and they dealt with it very nicely, bringing ideas on how to solve some messes. They kept in regular contact and also sending funny pictures of Isa. Back on arrival the house was tidy and everything still operating. We had a debrief (they also provided 2 pages of debrief notes, super nice!) and key swap, and then they were on their way. Thank you for the beautiful flowers and lovely card. If ever you would like to house sit in Helmond again, you are very welcome here!

Helene, Netherlands, 28 June, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

Fantastic House Sitters and People

Léonie and Rick were our very first house sitters and wow, were we lucky! They went way above and beyond what was expected while staying in our home for over a month. They took excellent care of our cat, Hercules, and sent us regular photos and updates. We were able to completely relax on our vacation and know that our cat and home were in capable and caring hands. They also took excellent care of our garden and houseplants and left us some delicious harvested tomatoes and chestnuts. When we got home, we breathed the same sigh of relief to be home as we did to go on vacation. They left the house spotless and organized and it felt like our cozy house when we came in. Any and all issues that had come up during their stay (we have quite an old and finicky house) they had resolved independently. They are very self-sufficient and easygoing. We only had a day with them before we left and a day when we came back, but we wished to have had more time, as they are really lovely people and super interesting to talk with. We are so grateful to Léonie and Rick and would recommend them to any homeowner for any house-sitting situation. Needless to say, they are welcome back to our house any time, whether it be as guests or house sitters.

Jacqueline, Spain, 16 October, 2022

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since July 2021