Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Responsible, active, retired, reliable, down to earth!

Canada

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s) – Many cats. Many dogs, including Australian Ridgeback, Sheepdog, Airdales, Standard Poodle and others. I also have some experience with fish. As well I spent some time on a farm growing up so I have some broader animal experience too.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 7 September 2020
Until: 31 December 2026

Occupation

Retired airline Captain

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am an active, down-to-earth, non-smoking professional in my late 50's. As well as having done some teaching & volunteering, at work & outside, I'm a retired airline Captain, after 30 years of flying.

Although divorced now, my wife & I were long time home owners and so I understand the value of caring for a home ( very handy and reliable). 

In general, I am interested in most time frames and can travel internationally.  

I would mainly like to housesit in Europe, North, Central & South America, North America, Australia and New Zealand. Other countries are also possible. I would be delighted to hear from you. 

Many, many references available, including taking care of homes, vehicles & pets in Europe, New Zealand, Australia, Canada, United States, Costa Rica and Mexico.

All the best,

Brad

 

Why they want to house sit

I enjoy the experience of meeting new people, and experiencing their communities & surroundings, becoming "new" locals.  I enjoy looking after homes & properties like they were my own.

I like to ensure that homeowners feel comfortable entrusting their valued home, property & pets to my care. I have been fortunate to make wonderful connections & new friends with many the home owners!

Their experience

I have been house sitting since Dec 2007, then with my wife, having done about 25 housesits together. And since 2013 I have done 8 on my own. They have ranged from 2 weeks to 4 months. On 5 occasions, it has been wonderful to be asked to do return housesits.

In more detail: In Dec/Jan 2007/08, we first took care of a renovated farmhouse in a rural area of the Dordogne, France (Sheepdog & 2 cats); then in Dec 2008 a home in Canberra, taking care of a dog... an Australian Ridgeback as well as 2 cats & 1 cockateel.

Starting in Jan 2009, a home in Cambridge, New Zealand (2 purebred Burmese cats) a condo in Toronto (1 cat) and that summer, a home in Winston Salem, North Carolina (4 months)

In 2010, a 4 month housesit near Ajijic, Mexico (standard Poodle); also a return to the home in Winston Salem, North Carolina & house sat there, also for 4 months.

In 2011 we did a return h/s in Mexico as well as new ones in Italy, France, Scotland & England.

In 2012 we did 3 return housesits: one in Mexico, our 3rd return to the Winston-Salem home as well as returning to the home in Scotland.

Since 2012 through to now, 2016, I myself have done sits in Scotland, London UK, near Toulouse France taking care of both cats & dogs... as well as 3 in B.C. in Coquitlam, White Rock & N Vancouver ranging from 3 to 6 weeks.
So all in all I've done more than 30 house/ pet sits over the last 8 years.

What can they bring to the assignment

As well as my long career in aviation, I have built a home in Canada and renovated another home & as well as 2 cottages so very capable. I've picked up some Spanish along the way & am studying it more actively now. I love pets ... and animals in general and take pride in keeping an eye on things related to the home & property.

I have been offered many letters of reference & will be happy to provide them.

Available to house sit

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Central South America, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, South Pacific, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Availability dates

From: 7 September 2020
Until: 31 December 2026

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2009

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Great guy

I would definitely recommend Brad to watch your pet.

Marci, United States, 04 March, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 7 September 2020